Abundance….

Yep, there’s that word again 🙂

I sit in the hotel lobby writing this post just outside of Melbourne, Australia in Bundoora.  It’s Sunday morning, I’m waiting for my room to be ready and I’m just passing a little time while that happens.  It’s August 5, 2012.

Zip back in time to 4 years ago, August 5, 2008.  That was my official cross the border Texas citizenship day.  I had driven from Ohio across all those flat cornfield filled states on my way to a new life in Texas.  I had no idea 4 years ago just how much my life would have changed.  I would have never in my wildest dreams predicted that in 4 years I would be in Australia–for the third time.  I chuckled about that on the cab ride from the airport this morning.  How easy my trip was from Dallas to LAX and then on to Melbourne.  It’s a much easier adventure than my last trip here.  This time I have one hotel, one office and it should be a very easy week. 

An easy week…half way around the world.

I marvel at that person who got in her car, loaded down with her most prized possessions and started the trek across country to Texas.  I had a job, a place to live, and I knew one person in the Dallas area, Carol.  I stayed at her house that first night, and spent many weekends there when I first moved to Texas.  Gradually over the last 4 years I’ve made so many new friends.  Coworkers, dancing friends–people who add so much to my life in Texas.  My world has expanded out bigger than I could have ever imagined. 

I’ve worked with 50+ offices all over the US, Canada, Australia and Ireland.  According to Trip It I’ve been on 73 trips to 123 cities and traveled over 175, 000 miles.  I could not have imagined that would happen in my entire lifetime, let alone in just under 2 years time. 

Abundance, appreciation of all that I have done, the people, the experiences, the wonders of this life in Texas.  I shake my head in pure amazement.  I am so happy for all of those who add to my life on a daily basis.  Making so many major changes in a person’s life can be stressful.  For those of you who knew me 5 years ago, you will understand the monumental shift in my life this has been.  There were lots of growing pains, lots of challenges, but I also had so much support along the way from people who care about me.

I truly believe that I lead a charmed life.  I think in part because of my attitude of gratitude, and realizing how full my life is of wonderful joys and experiences.  Abundance is so much more than numbers in a bank account.

Tonight at dinner I plan to toast my 4 year anniversary of becoming a Texan.  It was an incredible leap of faith and wow, just wow what an amazing life I lead.

“Leap and the net will appear.”

One thought on “Abundance….

  1. Heya terrific website! Does running a blog such as this require a great deal of work?

    I’ve virtually no knowledge of programming
    however I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog
    owners please share. I understand this is off topic nevertheless I simply had to ask.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

