Celebrating the Red, White and Blue….

Abundance….I use this word a lot.  I’ve discovered if  you really stop and take a look around, you have so much to be thankful for, so many things with real meaning–but sometimes you need to look inside to truly see the abundance.  My 4th of July was a day filled with abundance, so much that I climbed out of bed wide awake to try to put these thoughts together in a post.  (I’m hoping for an abundance of sleep after I get this written 🙂

My 4th of July started with a parade.  In my mind when invited to this parade I’m thinking Fort Worth, big parade, brass bands, floats, horses and a grand event.  What I got instead, was a Norman Rockwell painting type event of a local community parade.  There was a band, there were floats, there was even a kazoo band.  I sat in my lawn chair in the shade and had one of those *home town* feelings that my friend Maria used to talk about in the small town that I lived in back in Ohio.  Fort Worth could hardly be considered a small town, but on this particular corner, in this neighborhood I felt that sense of family, community and being part of a long standing tradition.  I was invited in as a guest and was treated like a part of the family. That’s just how the day started….

The rest of the day I was scheduled to be at my happiest place on earth, the Fort Worth Stockyards to spend the day at Willie Nelson’s 4th of July Picnic.  I went last year, by myself, and had an absolute blast.  This year I would be joined by some of my dancing friends, and I would be connecting with Billy Joe.  A day with Billy Joe always seems to be an adventure.

It’s July in Texas, not exactly the coolest time of the year, yet there was a breeze blowing, and in the shade it was tolerable to be outside to listen to the music.  The day started with the Randy Rogers Band, I had no idea how many of their songs I knew and that I dance to.  It was clear that they were humbled by the experience of playing at the picnic.  Not every artist or every band achieve that level of success in the music business, in fact I would guess that the odds lean more the other way.  It made me feel good that they seemed to appreciate their success. Abundance, right?

Late afternoon, I had the opportunity to go backstage with Billy Joe to meet Amy Nelson, Willie Nelson’s daughter.  Earlier I had seen her perform with Cathy Guthrie, Arlo Guthrie’s daughter.  I would describe their music as irreverent, but their voices were so sweet as they sang these hysterically funny songs.  I’ve become a fan of Folk Uke, and I look forward to hearing them sing again.

Seriously, backstage at Billy Bob’s? Inside, I’m screaming holy crap am I really back here?  I wanted to pull out my camera and just take photos of the room.  There were people milling about, and we took a seat on the couch to take a look at some photos that Billy Joe had taken.  At one point Jamey Johnson walked into the room, he’d just finished singing with Bill Anderson on stage.  Me, oh yeah, I’m cool, this sort of stuff happens all the time to me.  NOT! I no doubt looked like the Cheshire Cat sitting there in the chair smiling that Mona Lisa smile.

Then the sharing of the photos began that Billy Joe had brought for Amy.  Yes, there were photos of Willie and members of his band performing on stage.  To a person from the outside, that’s probably what it would appear.  But as Amy picked up each photo and looked at the picture, she had a comment for each one.  These were more than just photos of a celebrity, these were photos of her family.  Her reaction was the same as your reaction would be if you were handed a photo from the past of someone that you loved.  For me, it was a very moving experience that I felt honored to be a part of…more abundance.

I was thrilled when some of my friends decided to come along with me to spend the day at the picnic.  I wanted them to experience the event, and I know that they all had a great time.  We had some great stories to share, and a lot of memories were made spending the day with all of the great Texas music.  I can’t begin to count our smiles as we spent time listening to the music and just enjoying being together.

….and tangled up in the middle of all of this was a life lesson…

I’ve been pondering how to put the life lesson into words.  I tend to focus on the positive in life, and to let the negative drop off, as much as I possibly can.  There’s a quote, something I’ve read that’s tugging in the back of my mind that I just can’t pull out to add to this post.  It basically has to deal with not liking something in another person because it’s a trait that you see in yourself that you don’t like.  I had one of those moments on the 4th of July. I had a glimpse back in time to how I once was.  Struggling, feeling the need to have another half complete me as a person.

It’s taken me some time to realize that I complete myself….

I am happy with who I am.  I have an amazing life.  I have friends who add to my life each and every day.  I have experiences that even I can’t believe.  I have two wonderful daughters. I lead a very active and fulfilling life. The list of joy in my life is endless.

My life is filled with abundance…..

I’ve been considering a tattoo.  A word tattoo, abundance of course across my left wrist, in white ink.  That whole pain thing has me a little scared about the whole idea.  Also seeing the good, the bad and the ugly of tattoos yesterday at the picnic has me seriously reconsidering the idea.  I may just pull out a few of these doodle markers that I have and doodle the word abundance on my left wrist.  I could color coordinate it to my mood of the day. The idea was that seeing that word on my wrist would be a reminder of the abundance in my life.  What I realize is that I don’t need a reminder, that feeling of abundance is in my heart each and every day.

Abundance is not something we acquire. It is something we tune into. ~Wayne Dyer

One thought on “Celebrating the Red, White and Blue….

  1. As always, a great reflection and perspective of the joys of life and living it to the max.

Leave a Reply

