I’d rather be sailing…

I can remember seeing that on a bumper sticker growing up.  Just words on a sticky piece of paper stuck on to a car.  I’ve always loved seeing sailboats skimming along the water looking so graceful and beautiful.  In my travels and adventures if there is a sailboat anywhere in the vicinity it is likely to be captured in a photo or two or twenty.  On the wall of my apartment I have a picture of a sailboat and the Mackinac Bridge.

….yeah, I kinda like the way they look.  🙂

I’ve been sailing once before with my friends Frank and Steph.  I have so many vivid memories of my first time sailing with them.  It was an adventure, I can remember it being a little chilly, the wind in my hair, sitting in the *Jackie Onassis* chair. I loved that moment when the wind caught the sail and the boat tipped at an incredible angle and you just savor the moment.  I thought it would be hard to beat that first sailing experience and the memories.

A friend invited me to go sailing last night.  It seemed like a great way to spend a Saturday night.  It’s crazy hot in Texas, but on the water, in the evening it would be cooler.  I was looking forward an evening of fun with friends.  There were 6 of us sailing, there was lots of laughter, good natured teasing and great conversation.  It was one of those “this is why I moved to Texas” moments.

Weaving around, the company, the laughter and the food was a ballet of sorts as sails moved up and down, changed directions and the boat angled on the side.  I did my best to stay out of the way, not trip over anything and to not fall overboard, mission accomplished!  I asked questions, trying to understand what was happening, I really was interested.  In many ways, it was like a dance.  There were steps to be followed, a pattern, and people working in tandem to get the boat to move and respond to the wind.

My part for the evening was to sit back, relax, and to savor the moment.  I loved sailing at night, the feel of the water rocking the boat, incredible.  We ended the evening watching an amazing fireworks display, not from the shore, but from the boat.  I am still in awe of the precision and all that it took to make a 3+ hour sail so smooth and beautiful.

It’s going to take quite a bit to top this sailing adventure…

 

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”  Mark Twain

One thought on “I’d rather be sailing…

Leave a Reply

