A Circle of Friends….

“Be aware that you will always appear to be a little less than some people prefer you to be, but that most people are unaware that you are so much more then what they see.” A quote from Marc and Angel Hack Life  11 Ways to Become the Person You Love—wonderful words about life…and being happy being you.

I had an interesting life observation this weekend, ok, I had several interesting life observations.  It’s me, you know that’s going to happen.

I had a great weekend away with a dancing friend.  I spontaneously posted on Facebook that I was headed off on my annual trip to the Canyon of the Eagles and that I had a cabin with two beds.  I asked if anyone wanted to join me.  I travel alone all of the time, I’ve been to this corner of the world alone and had a great time.  But, Nancy reached out and said she would like to come along on the adventure, and I said the more the merrier, let’s have some fun.

It’s a pretty long drive from my corner of the world near Dallas to the Hill Country of Texas.  There was lots of time to talk in the car, and to really get to know each other.  It was interesting the common threads that we both had in our lives, experiences that we could each relate to.  Yes, we have talked while out dancing, we have talked at those crazy IHOP breakfasts afterwards, but to really sit down, and let the other person see the real you was a wonderful opportunity.

On Friday night, there was no IHOP after dancing night, we were all coming from different directions and leaving at different times.  When the dancing music did the change from mostly country to lots of hip hop I had an opportunity to have a great conversation with a new friend, fairly new to my corner of the world.  Once again, I found lots of common themes, interests, and of course with me, there was lots of laughter–and perhaps a bit of flirting, it was late, I was drinking water, I can’t be held responsible.  :o)

There are some people that I dance with, that I know a lot about, some that I know a little about, most I would like to get to know better.  Because that’s just my personality.  I am a people person, I love people, I treasure the people that I let into my life and call my friends.  I know that for some people, they wonder what my agenda is, what my deal is, nobody can be that nice. Yeah, I can.  I used to say that I’m JUST being me.  A wise friend asked me why I used the word JUST as if that made it seem less the important that I was being true to myself, the person that I really am.  So, I’ve switched that to I’m being me…I’m working to subtract that word JUST out of the phrase.

It’s always an interesting conversation when I talk to new friends about my wide circle of friends from around the world that I have met through social media sites—such as Twitter.  I know that many people think that I’m crazy to be off meeting, sending post cards to and staying with these people I initially met online.  It’s the shadows of the old chatroom days when you would never meet someone online.  In my life, there are no interwebz friends/regular friends.  These people are my friends, an extended family that love, care, worry, tease and harass each other.  You know, like any other family would do?  I know without question, I could make a phone call, send a text, post a status update saying I needed help and have dozens of people respond and ask, “What do you need?”  I just seem to attract those types of people into my life.

On some of those vacations, road trips, adventures I have made to visit my extended online family my best moments are not at events, in nice restaurants, doing cool things.  It’s the times when we sit out on a deck, around a kitchen table or on a patio together just talking.  Talking about anything and everything, person to person, no bullshit filters—wait, there’s ALWAYS lots of bullshit at these gatherings.  I would come home recharged, and wishing that there was a way to recreate that feeling in my world.

Yesterday, I realized I have done exactly that.  I have a circle of friends that I work with who I love as if they are my family and a job that I love.  I have a group of friends that I dance with–it’s the same thing.  We have become a close knit group of friends, yes we dance, but there is much more there than that. I know that if my car broke down, if I needed help with something at the apartment, or I just needed a listening ear, I just have to ask.  I also know that I would do the same for any of them.

While Nancy and I were out on our Crazy Gals adventure, there were so many times when we both wished that the rest of the group could be there with us, to share in the moments that we experienced.  I have a new goal, to find ways to have more of these opportunities to get closer, and to get to know more about these people who add to my life every day.  I see more road trips in our future.  I have a small apartment, but I believe I can squeeze us into my corner of the world for at least dinner.  I believe that we all find ways to do the things that we really want to do. Even with a schedule that has me gone most months for 12 days.

I can make this happen, it’s important to me.  I think that these nights of going out to dance and to have fun are making me younger. The days keep going by on the calendar, but I have more energy than I ever would have imagined.  Who would have thought NOT sitting on the couch every night would give a person more energy???

Ask…Believe…Receive

 

4 thoughts on “A Circle of Friends….

  1. I’ve never had so many friends to meet with and dance that have the same passion for dancing as I do. Its wonderful and I am truly looking forward to getting to know each and everyone better. Count me in! Ann, my house isn’t very large, but I have hardwood floors and can push the furniture back for dancing anytime you would like to do this!

  2. It’s amazing what you learn about yourself when you’re reading about somebody else’s walk. I’ve got to get my shoes on and get going! Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

