Sometimes, the planets just all align…

In my life, that seems to be the norm, not the unusual.  But, still, there are things that happen that make me pause in wonder at the path the Universe seems to put in front of me.  I look at some of the events, and think seriously, she’s making that up, but in fact, it’s all true.

I arrived home on Friday, made a mad dash from the Park and Fly with no time to pick up lunch, pass go or collect $200.  I was late for a team conference call followed by an online training for a doctor I will soon visit in San Francisco.  Frazzled? Most definitely, but not too tired to go out and have some fun with friends.

When I got to the honky tonk, some friends had arrived before me and had pulled two tables together for 8 people.  I suggested we add another table and all three tables were filled during the course of the evening.  I love my times to go out dancing with a large group of friends.  Some of us have met in dance classes, some through friends of friends, but our circle continues to grow into more and more people each week.  When I took my present job, one of my concerns was would I be able to continue dancing, and to continue my MeetUp group.  I spend more days away from home that I do at home most months.

The job has impacted my weeks of 5 or 6 nights of dancing a week.  Most of those nights were spent in dance studios trying to get better at dancing.  Now, when I am home I can’t squeeze in a night at the dance studio, but I am able to still go out and dance.  My friendships and connections have grown, I’m not sure how that happened, it makes no sense, and my dance group of single people who need a dance partner is at 310 people.  When I am away the members do a great job of posting lessons and places to dance and things hum right along.

I think I appreciate my nights out dancing more now that I did in the past.  I don’t get that many opportunities to dance, so I savor every moment, and although I may not have a lot of new dance moves, I can follow along, mostly.

…and when I can’t follow along.  I laugh.  Because dancing is like most things in my life, not taken all that seriously.  I have no desire to become a competition level dancer.  I started taking dance lessons as a way to go out and meet people and to not sit alone on the weekends on my couch knitting and watching movies.  Mission accomplished…

I gave up my Saturday night of dancing this week after I received an invitation from Billy Joe to head to Billy Bob’s in Fort Worth to see Randy Travis in concert.  It was a spur of the moment invitation and I can’t remember the last time I had been at my happiest place on earth, the Stockyards. I was long overdue to make the trip to Cowtown.

On Saturday afternoon I received an email from a friend.  You know that you are not supposed to have favorites when it comes to your kids, I am pretty sure it’s the same way with orthodontic offices that you train.  But, my friend and her husband are my favorite office.  They are not far from me, and I immediately adopted them after working with them for 3 days.  I try to have dinner with them when I am home, but I had not seen them since December.

“The reason I’m emailing you right now is to check and see if there is any chance you are going to Billy Bob’s tonight. We are going and Randy Travis is going to be there so I wanted to see if we were lucky enough to see you too!!!”

…goosebumps….

I immediately emailed her back and said I would in fact be there.  As part of my adopted Texas family I felt it was my duty as a Texan to introduce them to Cowtown, the Stockyards and Billy Bob’s.  They have been there several times and it makes me smile that they enjoy the place.  When I visited Texas for the first time, a wonderful friend took me there, and I immediately fell in love with the old town feeling.

…and then, there’s Billy Joe.

I took this photo last night in the back area of Billy Bob’s.  The photos on the wall, were taken by Billy Joe.

The never a dull moment, hold onto your hat and watch what happens tonight kind of person who is a part of my life.  We’ve been friends since the first year that I moved to Texas.  He took me to my first Texas State Fair.  We went to hear a band so he could take photos.  We had backstage passes, and we went back to meet the three artists.  Nice people, two guys, and a girl.  I had my picture taken with them, they signed my backstage pass.  An online friend had just told me about this group the week before.  I had never heard them before, but quickly fell in love with their music.  I still love them to this day and feel so happy when I see that Lady Antebellum is doing so well.  🙂

The first time I saw Pat Green in concert was with Billy Joe.  I can remember text messaging my daughter, asking him if she had ever heard of this guy, he was pretty good.  Pat Green is one of my favorite Texas artists, and his song Wave on Wave continues to be one of my favorite songs to dance to…especially with the right partner so I can sing along while dancing.  I also had a great moment at Billy Bob’s seeing Lee Ann Womack…with Billy Joe.  Jerrod Nieman with my dear friend Lindsay, Willie Nelson with Syed and quite a few people by myself (yes, it’s ok to go places alone) the Bellamy Brothers, Willie Nelson’s 4th of July Picnic, Jr Brown and Ronnie Dunn.  Billy Bob’s is a venue that gives you a chance to see musical acts not from a seat in the nosebleed section, but within feet of the artists.  I’ve sat in the front row, I’ve sat in the back row and each of those experiences hold special memories for me.

I did get to connect with my orthodontist and his wife.  I hugged them multiple times, and we talked 90 miles an hour catching up.  We’re going to try to have dinner this week so we can talk a little more.  The doctor just received word that he passed his boards…big news! They have also had some great things at the office.  I experienced so much JOY just being with them.

I am not a religious person, I do believe in the power of the Universe and I think that the Universe works through me, and works through others to align things to happen.  I find that the more grateful I am for the marvelous happenings in my life, the more things continue to come into my life that make me say WOW…

…there’s some kind of magic happening in Cowtown, it’s no wonder it is my happiest place on earth.

My life is filled with abundance, joy, love, laughter, music, dancing, friends and those giant huggin’ the stuffin’ hugs.

 

Leave a Reply

