What will you do today that will make you proud in a year?

When I found that quote a few days ago, it made me stop and ponder.  The quote has been rolling around in my head quite a bit since then.  It’s become my mantra for 2012.  But in trying to understand what this means for me, I think it really is a way of living.  Am I living the kind of life that I am proud of?  The answer is yes, my life is filled with abundance—that doesn’t mean money. Abundance in the things that really matter.

Usually at this time I sit down and make a list of goals, I hate the word resolutions.  Of course, they are pretty similar every year, some goals have been reached, some well, they are there again next year.  This year as part of my attitude of gratitude I decided to focus on 12 things that I am grateful for in 2011.  Eleven, you know that just sounded like such an odd number, let’s go with an even dozen?

  1. I am so grateful for the time that I got to spend with my daughters this year in San Francisco.  So many great memories, lots of laughter and a trip that I plan to repeat in 2012.  Maybe not California, we’ll sort that out when the time comes up.  It’s an annual tradition that I want to continue.
  2. I am so grateful that after each of my trips I took the time to at least write a few paragraphs about the trip.  Yesterday I printed out 6 months worth of stories to add to my scrapbook.  When I am in my 100’s I can sit in that rocking chair and remember those incredible moments and visits this year to places like Australia, Ireland, Arizona, California, Utah and on and on and on.
  3. I am so grateful for the job that I love, the people that are part of my days, and the orthodontists who love the Mac and welcome me into their corner of the world.  I amaze myself at the things I have learned this year.  No two practices are ever the same and that makes live very interesting.  Some of the best trips have been with the other trainers in the company.  *honk, honk*
  4. I am so grateful for my dancing friends.  I’m not able to go out and dance as much with my crazy schedule.  But when I am home, I am always included and in the middle of things.  I feel as if we have just been out dancing the night before.  New Year’s Eve was an epic adventure, and truly the best New Year’s Eve I have ever spent, sorry Dick Clark.  I’ve made many new dancing friends this year, and they add to my life both on and off the dance floor.
  5. I am so grateful for my young vibrant local friends Lindsay and Walter.  It is so darn exciting to watch them both grow into the people that they are meant to be.  Funny, we worked at the same company, but not until I left did we really get an opportunity to know each other.  I love them both, and I know that 2012 will be spent as a part of their lives.  They inspire me!
  6. I am grateful for my friends that have been with me all along the challenges of this life path that I have chosen.  I know that at any moment I could pick up the phone, tell them I needed help and they would be there, I would do the same for them.  There have been a few times this year when I’ve said, “Hey, I need a place to stay and there was always a yes at the end of the line.”  Thank you to the Dude, Brenda, Frank, Steph, Cate, Kate, Ken, Sydnee, Chaz, Michelle, Heidi–you have become my extended family.  New friends that add to my day who I’ve yet to meet Linda & Mr. B. And of course Joe, the most amazing photographer in the world who I adore.
  7. I am grateful for my volunteer opportunities in the Dallas area.  I’ve always believed in giving back and there’s an opportunity every weekend to do that.  I loved meeting the troops at the airport, volunteering to serve lunch at the Salvation Army and my favorite local charity sandwiches for Soupmobile.
  8. I am grateful for a nice apartment, in a great area that is close to the airport and all of the things that I love.  I’ve added some artwork this year and on those rare nights when I’m home sitting on my couch I love to look at the beauty that surrounds me there.
  9. I am grateful for being able to share my stories, my photos, my online ramblings with people who don’t get the opportunity to get on an airplane every week.  I know that some people probably think I am crazy when I am taking photos of food and drinks.  It’s all part of documenting my days.
  10. I am grateful for those moments this year that moved me..made me smile, made me cry.  A weekend in Burnett, Texas to help me center myself, Willie Nelson’s Summer Picnic, Ronnie Dunn at Billy Bob’s.
  11. I am grateful for my health, what I do isn’t easy and I’ve learned this year to really listen to my body when it says it’s time to rest.
  12. I am grateful for the Universe and all the abundance that fills my life.

My unswaying, always in the center of my vision board wishes for 2012, and every year….

  1. Help someone achieve a dream.
  2. Help someone catch the giving spirit.
  3. Make someone smile EVERY day.

You know what? I think that’s more than enough.  Happy New Year my friends.

P.S. Holy Crap I nearly forgot one very important person who I am grateful for.  My friend Carol that started off as my boss, and who I am so very proud to call my friend.  She’s always there for me, a sounding board, a voice of reason and a true gift in my life.

2 thoughts on “What will you do today that will make you proud in a year?

  1. I stumbled upon your article by accident and it is so inspiring to read the things you are grateful for. thank you for sharing.
    best wishes for 2012,
    Mika Emilia from Berlin

Leave a Reply

