It’s just the interwebz….

In the past 24-48 hours I’ve had some amazing experiences via the connections with friends on the web.  Yesterday a friend was having his first cancer treatment.  He’s created a group on Facebook to share information as he goes through his treatments.  It’s a way to keep a lot of people posted on what’s happening in his corner of the world.  He called me to tell me about the group before inviting me in.  It was a hard phone call for both of us.  I was able to hold it together until I hung up the phone.  I sat and cried for nearly an hour–my lunch hour, I just could not deal with it.  I have no concept of what this must be like for him.  I admire his bravery, and the support he has from his wife, his family and friends.

I won’t share his post through the day to Facebook.  Each time he would post, a ripple of messages of support would come through from friends.  Because I had commented, and the way my settings are I was copied via email each time those messages came through.  I felt as though I was a part of a circle of love, prayers and positive thoughts.  It would be tough for all of us to physically be in the room with him, but through Facebook we could check in to see how he was doing, and post messages of support.   In a word, it was powerful.

Yesterday and today, the 140 Conference has been going on in New York City.  One day I’ll make it to one of these events.  My current travel schedule makes that even more challenging.  But through the live feed to day I was able to listen to quite a few presentations.  I didn’t get to hear all of the ones that I wanted to, I was working after all.  At the end of the day, I had time to watch the last bits of the conference online.  I have been proud to call Jeff Pulver my friend–or just Jeff as I call him–for quite some time.  We met through Twitter, and he’s been an inspiration to me more times than I can count–always encouraging me to dream big—DREAM BIGGER!

I loved seeing friends like Becky McCray, Jim Long, Andy Dixon and Ted Rubin doing their 10 minute talks.  How in the heck did my world open up to include people from all of the world as part of my circle of friends?  During Becky McCray’s talk there was conversation about people who life in small towns, and how connecting to people via social media from all over the world had broadened and expanded their horizons.  I can attest to that.

Another presenter today was Depak Chopra via Skype.  Ahhhh…the power of technology.  I truly hope that his presentation will be made available online.  There were bits and pieces that stuck in my head.  The part that stayed with me the most, was the fact that happy people when interacting with other happy people exponentially increase the happiness factor.  We PollyAnna types really do have the power to change the world…so don’t mess with us!  🙂

There’s power in numbers…I see that in my life all of the time.  It’s why I focus on the positive–aka being my PollyAnna self, and understanding that the Universe has a path for me, a plan.  Even when I don’t always know what might be ahead on that path.  I find that I’m less stressed, actually I don’t stress much any more.  I don’t get upset over things that really don’t matter..what’s the point, really?  Will stressing or being upset change the outcome? Not likely, it just tips my world upside down.

Just ramblin’ out loud, there are times that I feel the need to write to get out what I’m dealing with in my head and in my heart.  I have felt that I am part of something that is bigger than myself for quite some time now.  The lady at the post office today when I was mailing cookies to friends told me that I was kind and thoughtful.  Ummm…I’m just being me, what brings me joy–rippling out that joy to others.  For a person who hates math, that’s a whole lot of multiplying!

“Surround yourself with positive people and situations, and avoid negativity” -Doreen Virtue

“You have it easily in your power to increase the sum total of this world’s happiness now. How? By giving a few words of sincere appreciation to someone who is lonely or discouraged. Perhaps you will forget tomorrow the kind words you say today, but the recipient may cherish them over a lifetime.” –Dale Carnegie

2 thoughts on “It’s just the interwebz….

  1. I’m so glad you had a chance to listen. It was a terrific day, with wonderful presentations. I have pages of notes to type up my summary. Even my 17 year old nephew found interesting parts, and he was star struck by Ann Curry! 🙂

Leave a Reply

