3 for 30 ~ Day 1

Back in 2007 I was part of a group of friends who decided for 30 days to post 10 photos to Flickr.  We were all pretty new to this online social media stuff and thought it would be a fun way to connect.  It was a challenge to find 10 things in your corner of the world to take photos of that might actually mean something.  What we didn’t realize at the time was that it would be a way to connect and get to know our new friends even better.  When I heard there was a project to do this again with friends I thought it would be fun.  I’m also challenging myself to do a blog post for the next 30 days.  If I have wifi on the road that is.

Today’s photos feature a few of my favorite things in Texas.


My very first visit to Texas was in March of 2003.  My time in Texas in 2003 made me fall in love with the place.  I spent 3 days with my friend Carol and during that stay we went to The Stockyards in Fort Worth also known as Cowtown.  It’s definitely a tourist spot, but so rich in history and culture.   At one point in time I thought I would move to Fort Worth when I finally made the move to Texas.  It was not meant to be, and I really like my corner of the world in Dallas.  I have the flexibility to go in all different directions to do things and to enjoy my life.  But The Stockyards for me is my Happiest Place on Earth.

The second three days of that maiden Texas voyage was spent in the Hill Country of Texas.  I was fortunate to have a guided tour put together by my friend JD.  Down to what exit to stop for kolaches, the perfect bed and breakfast, and turn by turn instructions to get me to some very beautiful country. It was a life changing trip.  Who knew 8 years later I would be hopping in my car on a whim on a Saturday afternoon and driving to Fort Worth just to recharge my spirit.

You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition.  What you’ll discover will be wonderful.  What you’ll discover is yourself.  ~Alan Alda

There came a time when the risk to remain tight in the bud was more
painful than the risk it took to blossom.  ~Anaïs Nin

I spent this afternoon enjoying a live like you were dying afternoon.  There were things to do, reports to write, emails to send, laundry to do, apartment that could use some dusting and sweeping.  All of those things will keep.  My day started with a major reality check of living life to the fullest.  I like most people get caught up in the small things sometimes, and let them control my days.  In the big scheme of life, looking back in the rear view mirror things that were monumental just a few years ago are just memories and really weren’t all that big of a deal to start with.

I’m looking forward to this 3 for 30 project.  My group is using Flickr, think about doing this on Facebook with your friends. (We didn’t really use Facebook in 2007 when I last did this project.  Nor did I have a cellphone that takes better pictures than my camera.)

….for 30 days, take a look around you, take a look at your life and what really matters and share it with friends.

 

P.S. JD? I yee haw-ed enough for both of us today, and sat in the window seat in your honor.  🙂

P.S.P.S to my guardian angels…I thought you’d like the $7.00 tip for the waitress on a bill that was only $13.00.  That one was for the both of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

