Thoughts become things…Choose wisely.

Every week, Monday through Friday I receive a note from The Universe. I have a file that I keep all of these emails.  Some make me ponder, some make me chuckle, some become Facebook statuses, and some make it to my vision board.  It can be uncanny how one of the messages will arrive apparently just at the time that I need it in my life.  Given the fact that 360,000 people receive those emails a day I guess the odds are that eventually you are going to find something that resonates with at least one person.

That’s how Mike Dooley became a part of my day to day life.  I first heard of him when I read The Secret, but never really gave much thought to him after that point, until the letters from The Universe.  I have quite a few of his books on my bookshelf at home.  I just finished his newest book Manifesting Change.  I wouldn’t put myself in *groupie* status, but I admire the man, and the words that he puts into emails and into pages of books.  Yesterday I got to see him up close and personal, and I sat not far from the table where he signed books.

I found this man to be just as genuine and down to earth as I had imagined.  He never rushed anyone who wanted to tell him their story, and the impact of this books and the notes.  His workshop was interesting and fun.  You know that’s what life is supposed to be about.  I know that the things that I trust in, believe in, aren’t for everyone.  But for me, they’ve made a difference in my life, and they’ve helped me to get through some major challenges.

I don’t believe that there’s a magic answer.  You can’t read books like The Secret, The Law of Attraction or anything of that ilk without taking steps to making those things happen.  There’s no magic lamp that you rub and *poof* your life is amazing.  I see my vision board, and this workshop as a way to clarify in my mind, what I want, and then to take steps toward those goals happening.

I realized yesterday, that I internally knew most of what Mike shared with the group of 130 people yesterday.  The matrix isn’t mystical or magical.  The most important thing to focus on is happiness, and the rest will sort of flow from there.  I am in an extremely happy place in my life right now.  I have a job that I love, that is giving me opportunities to spread my wings and to see the world, or at the very least some new parts of the US.  My life is filled with friends who add to each and every day and experience.  I’m comfortable with the person that I am.

Yesterday wasn’t so much about learning new things, it was about giving back and showing my appreciation to an author that I admire.

When Mike signed my book in the morning, he asked me, “How are you.”

I replied, “I am amazing.”

“I like that.”

Who wants to just be good when you can be amazing?

🙂

2 thoughts on “Thoughts become things…Choose wisely.

  1. You know, you reminded of a time I was talking to my director and she asked me how i was doing. I said “i am awesome!” She gave me the dubious look of someone who could clearly see I was struggling to remain upright, as I was fighting a terrible cold. She said “reeeeally?” I laughed and told her I planned on continuing to say and believe it until it was true. 🙂

Leave a Reply

