A tale of two cities…

I didn’t know this before moving to Texas but Dallas and Fort Worth don’t exactly have a great fondness for each other.  But this weekend I got to see a little bit of the heart of each of these two great cities.  One of the best feelings of all of this travel that I am doing is to land safe and sound back in Dallas.  After being in Texas for over 2 and 1/2 years, I still love the place and the friendliness of the people.

Saturday night I got to see a little bit of two classic places in Dallas.  I had dinner at the Twisted Root in Deep Ellum and had the BEST time.  I ordered the burger with blue cheese and sweet potato chips.  There’s no taking a number there, they hand you a slip with a famous name and that’s what they call out when your burger is ready.  Stevie Wonder was the name that was called out when my food was ready.  I added a banana flavored root beer and it was perfection.  I ate until I thought I was going to explode.  I did pick off the jalapenos on the burger—well, you know they are green and they are HOT!!  I’m not that much of a Texan that my taste buds have been burned away yet from the spicy food.  I’m a lightweight when it comes to hot Texas dishes.

After dinner, it was on to the Inwood Theater for a movie.  The place took me back to the movie theaters that I went to as a kid.  Same environment, but much better seats.  The theaters were small, the seats cozy and the popcorn smelled wonderful.  No cocktail in the bar for me, but maybe next time.

Both of these places are truly treasures in the Dallas area.  I joked to my companion for the evening that I lead such a sheltered life.  Actually most of my life is spent fairly close to home with trips downtown to Dallas now and then.  It was a wonderful experience and I’m already craving another burger and some of those sweet potato chips. Thank you Bill for adding such a great memory to my life in Dallas.

Tonight it was time to venture to Fort Worth to the see the Stock Show  & Rodeo.  I’ve been to a few rodeos in Texas, but this rodeo is filled with so much tradition.  It feels like Texas to me.  Of course, every adventure that I have with Billy Joe is an experience to remember.  I had an email from JD in the morning, told him I was headed to the Stock Show and he told me that I MUST have a corn dog.  I can’t remember the last time I had a corn dog—it was yummy!  I was smiling ear to ear as I was enjoying the experience.

After our gourmet dinner, we headed into the arena, and of course I was given the guided tour by Billy Joe.  I was snapping photos on my phone and uploading them to Facebook, and sending a few via email to JD and thoroughly enjoying the evening.  It was a small crowd, the rodeo was on Sunday night.  I met quite a few new people–imagine that I was with Billy Joe.  One cowboy took off his hat and shook my hand and I thought wow, this really is Texas and there are such great gentlemen here.

Two nights in a row I got to wear my boots.  Dallas was for sure the python boots, to Fort Worth I wore my butterfly dancing boots.  Tonight driving home I felt such a sense of joy of happiness of peace with my life.  I sometimes wonder if the Universe sends people and events into my life to help me center and find my balance.  Maybe my open attitude about living my life to the fullest just ripples out and attracts people to my life to help me find these experiences to enjoy.  Either way…I am grateful for all of the adventures that seem to head my way.  Lindsay would have been proud of me, I managed to drive to Fort Worth and back and did not drive up and over a single curb!

Tomorrow morning I will drink my Airborne cocktail and start my day headed off on another plane to another place.  But with me I will take memories along from a great weekend spent with friends.  I’ll have a piece of Texas in my heart to keep me company until I land at DFW airport again.

Texas is neither southern nor western. Texas is Texas Senator William Blakley

Leave a Reply

