2010 the year that was…

It’s that time of the year.  Time to reflect on the past year, and to start thinking about goals for 2011.  I could have never predicted some of the twists and turns that my life would have taken in the past 12 months.  I just held on tight and let the roller coaster take me where I was meant to go.

Yesterday I put some New Years cards in the mail and added a dozen new addresses to my address book.  I can’t begin to count the new people who I have added to my life this year, who add to my life every day.  I still shake my head in amazement at the people who surround me.  My life is filled with abundance…

Trips-wow, 2010 found me in Austin at SWSW, in Fort Lauderdale at SXSE, 10 days in Hawaii with my daughter, a trip back to the cornfields of Ohio with friends and an adventure in Chicago that let me experience fall leaves again.  My best memories of all of those trips were the people that I got to spend time with.  People that I genuinely love and care about.  I celebrated many major life moments with friends, and felt honored to be a part of their happiness.

Work – I would have never predicted my change to a new job.  I loved my job, planned to spend the rest of my days there.  But the universe had a bigger plan for me and nudged me into a new direction that feels like a great fit for me.  I’m looking forward to starting the huggin’ the stuffin’ out of life tour and crossing paths with friends along the way.  I feel like I am on the edge of an incredible life change and I’m embracing it and I am ready to get started!

Dancing- In January of 2010 I was pretty new to dancing still.  I never pictured myself moving beyond the dance lessons at a dance studio to actually dancing in the local honky tonks.  Somehow in my transition, I’ve encouraged 120 people to be part of my Need a Dance Partner Meetup group.  Now if I could just get them all out there to dance with me.  Me a leader an organizer.  I would have laughed at the thought.

Volunteering – I love being part of the Dallas community of giving, there are so many opportunities to help and each of them have given me so much joy.  They have been as varied as baking for the Salvation Army, making sandwiches, and being part of the toy sort.  It’s made me love my time spent in downtown Dallas…

Friends – It’s been a year of reconnecting with people from my past, and making new friends.  Ahh the power of the interwebz and even snail mail.  My greatest gift was connecting again with my friend JD, I’ve always valued his friendship, and it’s wonderful to have him back in my life.  I’ve slowly worked to add back pieces of my life that I have felt have been missing.  Those roots are a big part of the person that I am today.

Love – My love project this year was a life changer.  Sitting down and writing letters, notes and emails to friends to tell them how much they mattered to me, how much I loved them inspired me every day.   I know that rippling out love, doing the right thing ripples back to me 10 fold.

Being grateful – I take time to be thankful for what I have in my life.  That’s what matters most.  Understanding that having a life of abundance doesn’t mean having lots of money was huge for me.

Family – it’s ever evolving and every year on my vision board, in my goals I list to work towards finding balance and peace.  My daughters mean the world to me and even though I know they don’t always understand my decisions and my life choices, I see the beautiful women that they have become.  I work to keep the lines of communication open, and hope that they understand a little more about the person that I am today.

Relationships-–if you can’t say something nice…. 🙂

I leave 2010 behind with no regrets.  Many of the changes in 2010 you can’t see from the outside, they have been internal changes.  Balancing my life, finding inner peace–as corny as that sounds, it’s true, I did that.

“Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.” Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

