A week of firsts…

I was back in Atlanta this week for the end of the year gathering for my new employer.  I was really looking forward to meeting the rest of the team, and spending some time getting to know them.  I arrived Thursday night and we headed out for a happy hour excursion.  I have interacted with some of them on the company chat, so in a small way I felt like I knew them, that made things easier.  They are a hugging bunch, and you know how much I love hugs.  They made me feel welcome, and a part of the company.

Friday and Saturday were busy with meetings and trainings.  Wow, I was impressed by how wicked smart these people are.  I thought that my brain was filled to the brim with all of the new things that I have been learning, but there must have been room for a few more days of knowledge.  Friday night we went out to dinner at a great Italian place and the fun continued.

Saturday night we had plans to see Cirque du Soleil in Atlanta.  It was the Ovo show.  I’ve never seen Cirque before, so I was really looking forward to going.  We took a limo—that was another first for me, I’ve never been in a limo before.  I really enjoyed the show and it just seemed to grow in intensity as it moved from one act to the next.  The time zipped by and before I knew it, it was time to find the limo and to head home.

There were good byes and more hugs, we will all be together again in January.  It just reinforced for me how much I like this company and the people who work there.  For me, there are lots of changes, but the environment and the culture seem to strike a chord in me.  It just feels right, this is the place I am meant to be at this particular time in my life.  That’s a very powerful feeling.
Mostly…I’m feeling very happy.

When you finally allow yourself to trust joy and embrace it, you will find you dance with everything. – Emanuel

Leave a Reply

