Changing things up a bit…

If we don’t change, we don’t grow.
If we don’t grow, we aren’t really living. ~ Gail Sheehy

Once you’ve made a big change in your life, change is easier.  Deciding to change my life and move to Texas 2+ years ago was a major change.  After that, most of the changes and their impact on my life have seemed small.  Making the decision to change jobs a few weeks ago was merely a blip on the radar.

Actually it was a pretty large blip, but one I gave a great deal of thought to before I ever submitted my resume for the job.  It’s a different industry that will require a great deal of travel. Right now I have  8 trips planned between now and the end of February to Georgia (x2) , Ohio, New Mexico, Utah, Indiana, Michigan and Missouri.  It’s a bit ironic that my first venture out to observe training in this new job takes me back to Ohio.

Brrrrrrrrrrrr….all these trips to places where the weather is much colder than my home in Dallas.  But I’m excited, looking forward to the adventure..and this will be an adventure.  I’ve titled this next phase of my life as the *Huggin’ the Stuffin’ of of Life* tour.  The frequent flier miles will be adding up very quickly as I make my way all over the place to begin training for my new employer.

Until the major travels begin in 2011 I’m working from my home office.  I’m studying the curriculum, trying things in the software and doing my darnedest to make myself feel comfortable with another new challenge, my Mac Book Pro laptop.  This particular software that I will be training runs on a Mac.  Day 1, I was struggling with the shortcut keys, but things seem to be getting a little easier with time.  I joked to someone tonight that—-

“Every day we get a bit more comfortable with each other. At this rate, we will be engaged by Thanksgiving..married by Christmas.”

It’s interesting bouncing back and forth between my PC and the Mac.  Honestly at the end of my first day at home today I was ready to close the doors to my den and do something different…anything different.  I’m trying to start my day at 7:30, take time to enjoy an hour for lunch, and to end my day around 4:30.  It can be challenging to not walk into the den and check email or do some work stuff on the laptop.  I struggled with that most of the weekend.  The Oh Shiny newness of it all has not worn off.

My life has changed…it happened much faster than I imagined.  I turned down offers to dance on Friday and Saturday night this weekend.  I had been away from home all week and I just wanted to stay home to rest, relax and recharge.  Not sure what that is all about.  I’ve gotten back into knitting again, I took knitting along on the trip and managed to finish a few hats.  Last night I came up with some new made up pattern and created two adorable baby hats.  I’m wondering if knitting is the balance in my life right now.  All of this new stuff going on, and I’m trying to find a place to center myself.

I’m really enjoying learning new things, but my brain doesn’t seem to understand that when it’s time for bed, we need to shut things down and reboot in the morning.  I’m hoping for a better night of sleep tonight.  After work I fixed soup for lunch tomorrow and cleaned out dresser drawers and now have 3 bags of clothes for Goodwill.  For now home is also work, and I’m feeling a need to get things in order here.

“It is only in adventure that some people succeed in knowing themselves – in finding themselves.” ~  Andre Gide

On the edge of a great adventure..hold on we’re in for one heck of a ride.

:_

Leave a Reply

