August 5, 2008

Two years a, on August 5, 2008, I moved into my apartment in Texas. The moving company came to my apartment in Ohio, and in just a few hours almost all of my worldly possessions were loaded into a moving van. My Honda CRV was stuffed with clothes and things that I would need until my things arrived from Ohio. I skipped out to the car and started off on my adventure to drive from the cornfields of Ohio to Texas. I had no idea that more than my geographical location was about to change.

There have been lots of roller coaster moments in the past 2 years. It would be easy to focus on the challenges that came my way, but that’s just not my personality to do that. Instead I’m going to focus on ten of the best things to happen to me since moving to Texas.

  1. I have a job that I love, yes it’s challenging, but that’s part of why I like it.  I can remember those first few months pulling into the parking lot and sitting in the car with a big smile on my face.
  2. I am surrounded by people that have become my family.  I was a country girl alone in the big city, who quickly was embraced by a large network of people who bring a smile to my day.  The part that makes me the happiest, is that there are so many people that it would take me an entire blog post to mention them all.
  3. I look different, the hair is different, the shoes and clothes are different and even parts on the inside are different. Just looking in my closet at the bright colors there, and the racks of accessories is a wonder.  The country mouse certainly has been citified a bit. Yes, I still have my cornfield values and work ethic, but I live in a very culturally diverse place these days, and I like what each and every friend brings to my life.
  4. When I moved, my support network moved with me, and they continue to be with me as I face life’s challenges and triumphs.  If it’s true that people who have close connections live longer, I may just live forever.
  5. My volunteering has expanded.  I’ve always done charitable things, but I seem to have an opportunity to do a few more face-to-face volunteer activities and that brings me great joy.
  6. I love where I live. I have the security of a nice neighbor, a short drive to work and I can be in downtown Dallas in 30 minutes.  There is so much to do here…and I savor every new adventure that comes my way.
  7. Dancing..dancing..dancing….I would have never seen myself out there on the dancing floor like I am these days.  I’m getting braver and trying new dances and challenging myself.  Jumping WAY outside of my comfort zone.
  8. I am open to more of the possibility that life has to offer.  I no longer have to worry about what other people will think when I go out on a date, or out dancing, or just out to dinner.  No one cares, no one knows every person you are related too..a fresh start is a wonderful thing.
  9. I believe that I can do just about anything.  When I was a kid I can remember my parents telling me that I could do anything that I put my mind to.  After moving from Ohio to Texas and experiencing more life in two years than I have in decades I know that it’s all small stuff…
  10. I am on the path to something amazing….I just haven’t quite figured that part out yet.

I’m surprised at people’s reaction when I tell them my story and how I came to live in Texas.  I’m so far away from that person who drove across the state line with tears rolling down her face saying Yee Haw…that I sometimes forget what a challenge it was to make the decisions that I made and to make this move to a new life.  It would have been easier to stay in Ohio, that would have made quite a few people happy…but for the first time in my life, it was about me, and what would make me happy…

…and happy I am…

The good days..the GREAT days far outnumber the bad…

If you want to be happy, be.  ~Leo Tolstoy

Happiness is like a butterfly which, when pursued, is always beyond our grasp, but, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you.  ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

Happiness is the feeling you’re feeling when you want to keep feeling it.  ~Author Unknown

One thought on “August 5, 2008

  1. And on August 4th of this year, I moved into my new home. I’d moved to the SF Bay Area last week, found a great roommate situation, and got myself in today. Most of my belongings arrive tomorrow.

    Happy Texanversary Ann!

Leave a Reply

