The Ripple Effect…

An apology to my friend Steve Harper for borrowing the title of his book and his blog for just one day.  It seems a fitting title for my Saturday spent in Fort Worth.  At the end of the day driving home I marveled at the day, the series of events that lead up to all that happened and realized the power of ripples in your life.

I went back to Ohio a few weeks ago, to the cornfields.  Not to where I had lived in Ohio, but close enough.  It was a weekend spent with friends, filled with all sorts of laughter and love.  It’s no secret that I’ve struggled with the thoughts of going back to Ohio to visit.  My last trip there had been beyond challenging but looking back I realize it had a great deal to do with the toxic people that surrounded me that trip.  This trip was much different.

On Saturday, we ventured to Yellow Springs, Ohio.  It’s a funky little town nestled in the cornfields of southwestern Ohio.  It’s filled with all sorts of interesting shops, it’s a throwback to the hippie days, and the town is proud of that I believe.  Antioch University was the center of activities in the town, but the college closed a few years ago.  The alumni are working to bringing the college back to life.  That’s a story in itself.  A friend in Texas attended Antioch and asked me to bring him back a magnet for his refrigerator.  One would think that would be an easy task, but I wandered into shop after shop without much luck.  I finally found two magnets that said “Yellow Springs” on the front, mission accomplished.  I promised to one day deliver the magnets on a visit to Fort Worth, no clue when that might be.

I had a week last week.  I’m not quite sure where all of the disruption came from, or why my reaction was so intense, but I was a wreck all week.  The ripples started… My friend Critt randomly suggested that I visit the Kimbell Art Museum in Fort Worth.  I haven’t been to Fort Worth since January.  Fort Worth seems to feed my spirit.  There was a time when I pondered moving to Texas that I thought I might live in Fort Worth.  Perhaps I wasn’t meant to live there so it would continue to be my touchstone?  Midweek I began making my plans to visit the Kimbell and to stop at The Stockyards and enjoy the day there.

I sent Billy Joe, the magnet requester, a note on Facebook and we made tentative plans for me to connect with him and deliver the magnets.  Billy Joe works the night shift, so that gave me time to putter around the apartment, run a few errands and head to Fort Worth early afternoon.  Whole Foods was near one of my stops, so I picked up a container of grapes and cheddar cheese and bought a glass of watermelon sweet tea to enjoy on my drive to Fort Worth.  (I’m now in search of a recipe for this amazing concoction…very refreshing and not too sweet.)

It was family day at the Kimbell, the place was swarming with kids doing all sorts of art projects.  Oh my, this was not a good day to visit.  As a plus, there was an animated short video playing in the auditorium and I got to see the Fort Worth Jazz orchestra perform. (Actually it was just five guys, but still very enjoyable.)  The Amon Carter museum is a short walk away and I decided I was this close I needed to make a visit there too.

It wasn’t family day at the Amon Carter, so it was quieter.  I loved the landscapes, the images of the cowboys and the indians and the sculptures.  I rounded the corner and there were two Georgia O’Keefe paintings.  The painting of a red flower actually brought tears to my eyes, yes, it was that beautiful.  Even thinking about it today it makes me teary eyed.

It was a wow moment, and I decided that was meant to be my wow moment of the day, the drive to Fort Worth was well worth it, just to see these paintings.

It was time for a different cultural experience, I was off to the Fort Worth Stockyards aka Cowtown.  My first trip to Texas I visited the Stockyards.  I loved it, and it continues to be one of my favorite places on earth.  It’s touristy, filled with a variety of different shops and bars.  Yesterday while wandering the streets I saw a live blue grass band, a husband and wife playing and singing on one corner, a rock band, and a country rock band.  That was just within a few blocks.  I think it’s the life and the energy of the spot that makes me feel so good.  It was HOT as I walked around, when I left there around 7, it was still 101 degrees outside.

I headed to Billy Joe’s house to officially place the magnets on the refrigerator.  We headed to the Fuzzy Taco for dinner and we each had a fish taco and a shrimp taco. Very yummy!  At the end of dinner Billy Joe asked me to join him at Billy Bob’s for the LeeAnn Womack concert that night.  Earlier in the day I had made a stop at Billy Bob’s but the place was closed down to get ready for the concert.  I didn’t have any other plans for the night, so I decided why not.

There was a line at the door when we arrived.  Billy Joe led me to the front of the line, and handed me a general admission ticket.  With a general admission ticket, you have the ability to go in, and stand on the side of the reserved seating and watch the concert.  Seeing concerts at Billy Bob’s are great fun, and you really don’t have to have a seat in the reserved section to enjoy the music. We did some shmoozing with some of his friends that work there…and with a guy who appears to have a front row seat for every concert–he even took his seat home when the chairs were replaced a few years ago.  There was some time until the concert would begin so we walked around a bit.

As we were making our tour of Billy Bob’s and talking a couple stopped in front of us.  The guy pulled two tickets out of an envelope and said, “Wow, these tickets are for reserved seating.”  It looked like they were making their way out of the club.  He looked at his girlfriend and said, “What should I do with these?”  She said, “I don’t know just give them to someone, give them to that lady behind us.” That would be me…we won’t get into that *lady* part.  So the guy turns around and hands me a ticket.   After they walked out, Billy Joe looked at the ticket, it was in fact a great seat, my worries of no seat for the night were over!

It was a night to remember, I found myself smiling at song after song.  I know that my guardian angels were dancing when LeeAnn went old school and sang “I go out Walkin'”, “Take the Ribbon from My Hair” and “I’ve got your picture, and she’s got you.”  Of course, the song that got to me the most, “I hope you Dance”.  That could be my theme song.

I don’t think it was random that I found myself sitting there last night listening to that song.  There were a series of ripples and people that somehow put me into that place at that time when I needed to hear those words the most.  I love Texas, I love my life here and with all of my travels this month, I could not wait to get back home.  Are there days that frustrate me? Hell yes… But have I ever regretted my move here and turning my life upside down to create a new life…never.

Once again Billy Joe, you lead me to an amazing memory….

You get whatever accomplishment you are willing to declare. Georgia O’Keeffe

I Hope You Dance

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat
But always keep that hunger
May you never take one single breath for granted
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed
I hope you still feel small
When you stand by the ocean
Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens
Promise me you’ll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance
I hope you dance

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Living might mean taking chances
But they’re worth taking
Lovin’ might be a mistake
But it’s worth making
Don’t let some hell bent heart
Leave you bitter
When you come close to selling out
Reconsider
Give the heavens above
More than just a passing glance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance
(Time is a real and constant motion always)
I hope you dance
(Rolling us along)
I hope you dance
(Tell me who)
I hope you dance
(Wants to look back on their youth and wonder)
(Where those years have gone)

I hope you still feel small
When you stand by the ocean
Whenever one door closes, I hope one more opens
Promise me you’ll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
Dance
I hope you dance
I hope you dance
(Time is a real and constant motion always)
I hope you dance
(Rolling us along)
I hope you dance
(Tell me who)
(Wants to look back on their youth and wonder)
I hope you dance
(Where those years have gone)

(Tell me who)
I hope you dance
(Wants to look back on their youth and wonder)
(Where those years have gone)

3 thoughts on “The Ripple Effect…

  1. Hi. I discovered your wonderful Blog because I came online to check my emails and shut down for the night. I decided to visit a few friends at Twitter first, one a good friend, @Miss_Dazey. I noticed that she mentioned your name a couple of times, back-to-back, for some reason I clicked on your Twitter page. I found it locked, however you list your Blog on your bio. So I arrived here out of curiosity, but stayed because of your moving Blog posts.

    Your writing touches the soul; I continued to read because I am a lover of words. I am so sorry to learn of the loss of your Twitter friend. My condolences for a friend lost. Obviously I have gotten to The Ripple Effect post since that is where I am commenting. It is after 1:00 AM, I will have a cup of tea once I say good night and thank you, to you.

    After reading your posts and noticing your ‘tags’ I realize it was not idle curiosity or a coincidence that brought me here. Yesterday was an odd, antsy-type day for me, not so much an anxious day, just odd like something needed to happen. The posts and tags I saw suggest that you are a long-time volunteer, that you are a Kiva person, a Georgia O’Keefe fan and truly understand the song “I Hope You Dance” and it touches you deeply. Oh yes–and you are a weeper. These are the things I am also–I am once again, convinced there are no coincidences. It appears I was supposed to find you and that I owe Miss_Dazy one.

    Good night, thank you and many blessings.

Leave a Reply

