Random thoughts…

This is my absolute favorite photo so far that I have seen posted from my adventure in Ft Lauderdale last week for SXSE.  It was the third such gathering, and my oh my has the event grown.  But at the core, it’s still about connecting with friends that I love.  In this picture is Tami is kissing me on the top of the head and making me giggle.  Tami and Yvette both covered my head and face in kisses every time I connected with them over the weekend.  When I was face-to-face with my buddy BT on Saturday I could not hold back the tears.  The weekend was a love fest with people who humble me with their brilliance.  How in the world did I manage to surround myself with such incredible people?  This photo says JOY to me, because that is exactly what I was feeling.  Hugs to those who made me smile this weekend:  Brenda, Duane, Miguel, Heather, Kevin, Maria, Yvette, Ana, Heidi, Vickie, Tami, Homer, Michelle and some new friends that are already making me chuckle with their tweets in my tweet stream.

Today I had lunch with a friend who was visiting from Atlanta.  We’ve known each other for four years.  I had dinner with him two years ago before moving to Texas.  He had some time before heading to the airport, so it was a few hours to catch up on both of our lives.  I told him at lunch today that I believe our lives will be forever entwined.  Long before Twitter he was very supportive when I was in the process of making my decision to move out and end my marriage.  I had many long supportive emails from him, and he also asked me some tough questions about my decisions.  When I was worried about how I would support myself, he offered to loan me money, he offered to let me use his airline miles when I went to Hawaii for the first time.  I declined both offers—but just making  the offer was very appreciated.

A few things have been on my mind since my journey to Florida.  In my past life, those trips were an escape from reality.  Now, I’m just as anxious to get home as I am to leave on my adventures.  Texas is home to me and I love my life here.  I am happy.

Today, at the end of lunch my friend walked me to my car, and we shared several great hugs as we said good bye.  I realized that I love to hug, and hugs make me smile.  But the hug today, from someone who loves me, cares about me and has worried about me was really a spectacular hug.  I was lucky enough to be the recipient of those kinds of hugs while at SXSE.  It made me decide to write a Post-it Note to the Universe.

Dear Universe,

I need a giant hug each and every day. I had a great hug from a friend today at lunch that made me realize I need more of those.

Ann

I’m going to do a real Post It and put it on my vision board tonight.  Somewhere out there is a line up of those kinds of hugs with my name on them.

I’m also reading Seth Godin’s Linchpin and I’m being very inspired.  So inspired that I bought a copy of the book for my friend Meachy for her birthday.  I like to give gifts in fabric bags that I have made.  I usually toss in an assortment of small gifts that I pick up along the way.  After picking up Meachy’s book, I stopped at Pier 1 and bought a cute yellow lizard magnet that was on the sale rack.  Today I checked in on Meachy to see if the book had her as charged up as it did me…yes.  She said I am just really impressed that you bought me a lizard magnet–I get it, the book talks about lizard brains and you were Amazing Ann to buy me that magnet.  Honest, it wasn’t intentional, more than likely it was my subconscious mind making that connection, or more than likely just a coincidence.

I’m half way through the book and I realize I am a linchpin, or perhaps a linchpin in training.  But I can be so much more, and I know I have so much more inside of me screaming to get out.  I just have issues with the lizard brain, but I am much better than I was a few years ago.  The lizard brain could have easily kept me from taking a major change in my life path…now, everything seems easier after conquering that challenge.

“The linchpin insists on making a difference, on leading, on connecting with others and doing something I call art.  The linchpin is the indispensable one, the one the company can’t live without. This is about humanity, not compliance.”  -Seth Godin

When people politely ask me, “How are you?” They expect me to say, “Good”.  I look the straight in the eye with a smile and say, “I am amazing.”  I get a chuckle out of watching people’s reactions to that statement.  It’s not ok with me to just be good, or ok, I strive to be amazing.

Silly maybe? But it seems to work for me.

Realize that true happiness lies within you. Waste no time and effort searching for peace and contentment and joy in the world outside. Remember that there is no happiness in having or in getting, but only in giving. Reach out. Share. Smile. Hug. Happiness is a perfume you cannot pour on others without getting a few drops on yourself.~ Og Mandino

Wishing you *those kind* of hugs to brighten your day.

🙂

One thought on “Random thoughts…

  1. You are such an inspiration! I’m so happy that you had a great trip. I saw a bunch of the photos on Facebook – you look great!

    You are indeed a linchpin – and amazing! I’m so honored to know you (even if it’s just via the interwebs *grin*)

Leave a Reply

