Someone made me cry tonight..and I’m pretty happy about that.

Tonight on the drive home from dance class, I wished that the drive could have been longer–it’s only 15 minutes from my apartment.  I had the sunroof open, the windows down, the music cranked up and was feeling the afterglow from dance class.  I had a smile on my face as big as Texas, I honestly could feel it.  As I told a friend today in an email, I felt JOY with all capital letters.  Somewhere along the line, I’ve actually learned how to dance.  Who would have thought? 🙂

I get home and find a message from my friend Chaz.  Chaz is the only person that I have met face-to-face for the first time and let out a scream that was heard across an entire restaurant.  I really didn’t care that every head in the place turned to gawk at us.  He surprised me last year on my trip to Mendocino, California.  While in Mendo I was spoiled by the cooking of Chaz, kaydub and Rabbitroodle.  Never have I spent a day enjoying one wonderful thing after another.

I can’t even remember how Chaz and I crossed paths on Twitter, but he makes me laugh and I am very proud to call him my friend.  When he decided to follow his dreams and go to culinary school, I cheered on the sidelines.  As someone who decided to make a major life change I know how hard it can be, and I also know how hard it can be to step out and in the words of Nike just do it.

Chaz went to culinary school and kept his day job.  I’ve loved hearing his stories and seeing pictures of what he has been up to in the kitchen. The message tonight nudged me to look at his big announcement.  He gave notice at work today and he’s moving from New York to San Francisco to follow his passion to cook.  When I read that I cried, not a my eyes filled up with tears, but real tears.  I am so proud of him…

There are lots of people who say they want to change their life.  Yet they mark time in the same place, doing the same thing thinking that some sort of miracle will happen and *poof* things happen.  It’s a process, lots of steps, the stars coming into alignment and having the balls to say I can do this.  (I know, I don’t have balls, but you know what I mean.)

Not happy with your life?  You have the power to change things, even if it’s just a small step at a time.  It took me 5 1/2 years to get to Texas.  I won’t say there weren’t times when I thought that just staying in the life I was in would have been easier.  I was a big fan of comfort zones back then.  Oh, I’ve had more than a few hiccups, and speed bumps, and I’m no super hero, I’ve also been really scared.

“Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.”  ~ Gail Devers quotes

What are you waiting for? You can do it, I believe in you, now it’s time for you to believe in yourself.

I ❤ you Chaz and I know  you are moving to this side of the US to be closer to me, you can’t fool me!

3 thoughts on “Someone made me cry tonight..and I’m pretty happy about that.

  1. Thanks Ann for sharing this story. It’ nice to hear about and see people like you making the changes. Some of us a bit slower, some quicker, nonetheless it takes courage and is always easier when we have folks like you cheering us on!

    Mark

  2. This Luay from Twitter land
    I love this post, following my dreams has been very challenging, but I’m getting closer by the minute. Thanks for sharing the story about Chaz, and congrats him on my behalf.
    Follow your dream with faithful steps, leaving a legacy is a corner stone of my life, and I will talk about later this summer.

Leave a Reply

