Sometimes you just have to dance…

It started last night..the nausea.  I’m not sure if it’s Luther, (yes, I’ve given the kidney stone a name) or if it’s the myriad of drugs I am taking these days.   I stayed in bed an extra hour this morning, tried the medication for nausea from the doctor…still not good.  But I have a project that needs to be done, so off to work I went.  My day started with meeting after meeting.  I didn’t feel up to eating my usual morning yogurt and apple.  About 11, I was scolded by a friend in another department that pushed a yogurt in my hand and said, “Eat this NOW.” I said, “Yes mom” and I did.  I had a bowl of vegetable soup for lunch and started feeling a little better.

I arrived home and had no appetite, so I hit the couch to rest for a bit.  I decided that if I felt even a little energy I was going to try to go to dance class tonight.  I figured if it was too much, I could sit down or I could just come home.  If it wasn’t maybe this was just what the doctor ordered, a distraction.

I danced for 90 minutes.  A big part of that is lesson time where you stand around a lot, and do the moves on slow speed, so it was not taxing.   We started with a few practice dances.  I danced with my favorite dance partner, I love the way he leads, and I laugh a lot, and he laughs with me.  We are both at about the same level, so it makes it fun.  I am not a big fan of dancing with people who dance at a high level.  They spend all the time dancing trying to correct what I am doing wrong.  That doesn’t make them smile, and it doesn’t make me smile.  It makes dancing work..to me dancing should be fun.  I don’t plan to be on Dancing with the Stars no matter how much I tease about being a famous country western dancer one day.

There were an even number of men and women in my dance group tonight.  That makes it more fun when I get to dance the whole time.  My dance partner wasn’t perfect, and neither am I, we laughed a lot.  He is without a dance partner, his last partner now has a boyfriend, so he was dance partner dumped.

I had no pain tonight, I took pain medication before leaving the house.  Once I was on the dance floor nausea was the last thing on my mind.  I’ve discovered that I can actually talk and dance now for some of the moves.   I’m not sure when that happened.  I came home with a smile on my face, and that same terrific feeling that I get after a great night of dancing.

I may pay for it tonight, I may pay for it tomorrow..but it will be worth it.  I’m hoping that the Texas Twista turns will have shaken Luther up a bit and he will decide that being inside of me is not as cozy as he thought.

Joy is the feeling of grinning on the inside. ~ Dr. Melba Colgrove

Dancing makes me grin on the inside….and on the outside too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

