Keeping things in perspective…

“Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect. It means that you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections.”

I’ve given myself a few days to feel sorry for myself because a kidney stone has decided to run amok inside of me.  Maybe it was a sign from the Universe that I needed to settle down and rest, maybe it was a nudge from the Universe to see a few things differently.

I have a kidney stone, yes, it’s painful, and it’s not an experience I would have wished for.  But the stone is small 2mm and will pass through without any additional intervention.  I need to be patient, this is just a temporary speed bump.  I have friends and people in my life who are facing challenges much more challenging than what’s going on in my corner of the world.  There is light at the end of this tunnel, each day I feel a little better a little stronger.  I listen to my body, and when it says rest I rest.

I don’t know how people walk around in a drug induced fog.  I struggle not to take the Vicodin. Thankfully the doctor today gave me a new prescription for something not nearly as toxic to my system.  There are some people who don’t have that option, due to cancer or other diseases, Vicodin is all that will stop their pain.  I can easily see how someone could become addicted to painkillers.  I don’t have that to deal with on top of my kidney stones.

Today I sat in the urologist waiting room and chuckled.  It was pretty much as I expected, mostly older men.  There were photos of penises and prostates on the wall which struck me as quite funny.  While waiting for my turn to see the doctor I updated my Facebook status:

Ann is at the urologist…this waiting room has me chuckling and feeling like a youngster…I am guessing I am not the only one here using Flomax…oh my

My friend Steph commented on my message:

such an interesting life you lead! 🙂
That made me giggle even more.  That’s true.  I seem to always be in the middle of some sort of adventure.  I think because I choose to live my life as an adventure, an I always seem to see the humor in most situations.  I never ceased to be amazed that when something fun is going on, I’m usually there.  I wonder if I am just lucky to be in those situations, or if I just attract those things to my life.  I’m not sure, but either way I am ok with that.

When an illness knocks you on your ass, you should stay and relax for a while before trying to get back up.  ~Terri Guillemets

Leave a Reply

