Slow down…

Slow down, you move too fast.
You got to make the morning last.
Just kicking down the cobble stones.
Looking for fun and feelin’ groovy.

I got the afternoon off today. The weather is hovering around 70, the boss said take off and enjoy the afternoon.  I had a few stops to make on the way home. Tomorrow is sandwiches for Soupmobile so I stopped at Walmart to pick up bread, meat, cheese and ziplock bags.  That will save me some time in the morning, and I can’t get much more for my charitable dollars there.  I also bought a fresh angel food cake, strawberries and Cool Whip to treat myself tonight to something yummy.

I needed to stop at the pet store, I was out of fish food.  I was also in need of some sort of algae eater and my goldfish tank has been down to one fish for awhile, he needs some friends.  As I moved around the fish tank areas waiting for someone to come, I just enjoyed being out and about.  Another person came to the fish area, and as soon as Mr. Fish Man came back to help, the guy stepped right in front of me. Umm…no big deal, shrugging my shoulders.  When Mr. Fish Man looked at me apologetically, I said, “It’s ok, I’m not in any hurry.” Because I wasn’t, and I stood there as the man pointed out fish by fish what he wanted and even changed his mind once and a fish had to be put back into the tank.  Whatever…5 or 10 minutes was not going to make that much of a difference in the big scheme of things.

I went to the cash register to pay for my three bags of fish and container of fish food.  The lady in front of me wanted a gift card.  The clerk pointed her in the direction of the gift cards.  The customer looked over her shoulder and said, “I want a $15 gift card.”  I put my fish up on the counter and the cashier began to ring them up.  Ms. Gift Card Customer returned…and was instantly pissed.  She looked at me and said, “Really?” about 6 times.  I looked at her and said, “You walked away, I put my stuff on the counter and the clerk started ringing them up. If it really is that big of a deal she can back my purchases off and you can go ahead of me.”  Clearly, the woman was a brain surgeon, a rocket scientist or on her way to transplant a heart.

The clerk backed out my purchases and said to Ms. Gift Card.  “We have many gift cards to choose from, there were a line of people, I could not wait for you to return and hold up the line.”  I pushed my cart away, and went back in line.  My only comment, “Life is too short.”

It took more time for her hissy fit, and the clerk backing out my purchase than if she would have just taken her place in line again.  I’m not sure what bothered me more, the flat out rudeness, or the sense of entitlement she seemed to feel.  I’m not good at hiding my facial expression in those types of situations.  I’m hoping that she clearly saw my *I think you are being ridiculous, and did that extra two minutes you have to wait accomplish anything?*  I smiled, paid for my fish and headed for home..and pondered, whatever happened to just trying a little kindness?

“You can get through life with bad manners, but it’s easier with good manners.” ~ Lillian Gish quotes


2 thoughts on “Slow down…

  1. That’s the second time today I’ve seen someone quote “Feelin’ Groovy” Must be something in the air….

    You have such a wonderful attitude, darlin’! You are an inspiration!

  2. “Life goes by so fast that if you don’t stop and look around, you might miss it.” ~Ferris Bueller

Leave a Reply

