It’s a bloggin’ kind of night….

It was a stormy night in Dallas, so I decided to stay home, and keep my car under the carport and out of harm’s way.  I sat down for an hour and continued writing my new book. It’s funny that I was struggling for months with the first book I thought I was meant to write.  For sure,  that book will be my second book.  But on the way home from Austin last week, it came to me what I needed to write about.  It’s just a first draft, but the writing is coming easier than anything I’ve ever written.  I’m pulling snippets of inspiration from all sorts of places.  I’m also reaching deep down into my soul and pulling out some really challenging times and memories from the last 3 years.

It’s not been an easy book to write, my fiction writing instructor would be so impressed at the ups and downs of the character in this book.  I’m pretty attached to this character, because the main character is me.  I think I’ve found a way to weave in all of the ends of my life for the past few years.  It may be a bit of a struggle as I get to rewrites, but for now, all sorts of things are pouring out, and finding their way onto the pages.

I love to write, for as long as I can remember I enjoyed putting words on paper.  I was the feature writer for my high school newspaper.  That skill set kind of laid dormant until I began blogging back in 2006.  2006? That’s like 15 years in interwebz years!  Tonight I was going to go in and cancel one of my paid blog accounts.  I rarely blog there, it seems like a lifetime ago when all of those things were going on in my life.  But when I looked at the history there, the archives of my life I decided that the blog was worth keeping.  I made a quick post about my life in Dallas just to let the few people that may actually be reading it know that I am still alive.

That got me to thinking about the blogs that I used to have on Blogger.  I’ve been trying to guess the email address and the password to get into the accounts for the last week.  I was starting to feel like Rumpelstiltskin was holding my blog for ransom. Tonight there were a few clues, I realized that the blog was tied to my old email account in Ohio, did a logical guess at the password and shazam! I was back into the blogs that I had hidden from public view.  I wanted access to the blog post I wrote when the trolls at work found my blog.  I wanted to have that emotion, those feelings.  Thank you Universe for helping me get to those paragraphs of anger, hurt and pain. I’ve long since moved past the small town drama.

I’ve thought a lot about hugs this week.  I got used to having several hugs a day while in Austin.  Yesterday I went down through my cellphone list and sent a message to everyone there:  “Hey, have you been hugged today?”  *HUG*”  I decided anyone that was in my cellphone, deserved a hug from me.  It put a smile on my face all morning.

Never wait until tomorrow to hug someone you could hug today,
because when you give one, you get one right back your way.
~Author Unknown

“Always remember to slow down in life; live, breathe, and learn; take a look around you whenever you have time and never forget everything and every person that has the least place within your heart.”

2 thoughts on “It’s a bloggin’ kind of night….

  1. Does your fictional character ride the photo bull at Billy Bob’s Texas? I hope she does.

    I like the new look of this blog. Very clean and modern, professional without looking like a business site. Your other blogs are smaller facets of this one…this blog seems to capture more of the butterfly-of-the-cornfields as she discovers and tries out her new wings.

Leave a Reply

