A roller coaster kinda day…

I made up an excuse a day as to reasons that I did not want to get up at 5:30 a.m. this morning to drive to downtown Fort Worth to participate in the Cowtown Marathon.  It might rain, it’s too cold, it’s too early..whine whine whine (that seemed to be  a theme a few days this week for me).  Last night I decided that was silly, and none of those things were reasons not to get my behind out of bed and head to Fort Worth this morning.

I love Fort Worth.  There were times before moving to Texas when I thought I might end up living in the Fort Worth area.  I love the history of the place.  I was lucky enough to cross paths with Billy Joe who taught me a lot about the history of Fort Worth and the Stockyards.  I always felt that he showed me “JD’s Fort Worth”.

I was there early and parked at the baseball field and took the bus into Sundance Square.  There were people EVERYWHERE.  There were 20,000 plus registered for the marathon, the half marathon, the crazy people run even further marathon, a 10K and a 5K event.  I said from the start that I was going to walk this event, I am not a runner.  I’ve walked in two 5K races in Ohio.  It was a benefit for the college.  The course was a flat back country road, straight out and back.  There were maybe 100 people at the event.  The Cowtown Marathon group contained over 2,000 people.  It was kind of cool being with that many people singing the National Anthem to begin the race.

As we took off, there were lots of people running past me, but like the turtle and the hare, I was slow but steady keeping my pace.  My goal was to finish the walk in under an hour.  I met that goal.  The course wound around downtown Fort Worth and I enjoyed looking at the very cool buildings in downtown.  It was a nice way to enjoy one of my favorite cities in Texas and I was in the car and headed to Dallas by 10:00 a.m.

Yes, headed to Dallas.  My next stop of the day was in downtown Dallas making sandwiches with the Soupmobile group.  This was by far the most bread, meat, cheese, bags and mustard I have ever seen donated at an event.  At the end of just over an hour we had made 2,082 sandwiches.  Our goal for each of our get-togethers is 1,000 sandwiches.  We blew that target out of the water.  It’s a fun group of people, and I enjoy my time there with them every other week.

I had plans for lunch afterward with a friend, and we met a little further up the highway at a Cheesecake Factory.  The restaurant was next to a large Barnes & Noble that was hosting a book signing by Ozzy Osborne.  The parking lot was jammed, but someone pulled out just as I neared the restaurant.  I was feeling as if I was living a charmed life today, things were just falling into place.

Then my phone rang, it was my friend Heidi asking about my oldest daughter.  I was totally clueless why she would ask me that.  I had not been near a tv or the Internet and had no clue of what was brewing in Hawaii.  I sent my daughter a text message to check on her.  She thought they were safe, but she was nervous.  I of course did the mother thing and tried my best not to worry.

My friend and I ventured down to the bookstore to check out the crowd assembled to have their books signed by Ozzy.  There was loud music blasting in the parking lot and a very interesting collection of characters who had been waiting for quite some time to have books signed.  I’m not sure there is any author that I would stand in line hours to have a book signed by.

When I finally made it home I started following the story in Hawaii.  I began to get a sick feeling in my stomach and was truly scared for my daughter while watching all of the reports on the tsunami.  We had just had a conversation the night before when she sent me a photo of her garden.  We talked about my trip to visit her in July.  She and her boyfriend are very excited to have me come visit for a week.  I’m pretty excited myself to see their new lives, to meet their friends, and to explore their corner of the world.

Finally the excitement of the day caught up with me, and tonight I’m on the couch, feet up, enjoying the last of the Olympics.  I’ve seen some of the images from Chili, and I am feeling very grateful tonight.  I feel that I live a life of abundance, that has nothing to do with money or things.  It’s about living a life that makes you happy, surrounded by people that care about you, and that you care about.  It’s not about *stuff*.

This quote reminds me of my friend Michael, who also called today and was one of those high points in my day…

Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, champagne in one hand – strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming “WOOHOO – What a Ride!”
— Attributed to an octogenarian named Mavis Leyrer, of Seattle

Leave a Reply

