A week filled with a few lessons in life…

Last week was a tough week for me.  I did my best to try to keep a positive attitude, and compared to last year when I was very sick and in the fetal position–I think I did ok.  I had a few meltdowns during the week, but thankfully they were in private, and no one had to witness me just being ugly.

…ok, maybe a few people did witness it when I wrote a blog post in a bad mood.  There were some paragraphs specifically pointed at a few people..I vented my frustrations.  I know that life is not all about me, but I lost sight of that a few times last week.

My life lessons this week…

I’ve been working to build my Etsy Shop, that’s been on my list of things to do in 2010.  I had set a goal of 2/10/2010 to have things made and ready to go into the shop.  I did meet my goal and was a few days early.  It was out there…that’s about it, done, met the goal.  A friend of mine at work challenged me to make some *dolls of color*.  “Ann, I know you are from the cornfields, all of your dolls are white.”  She had a point.  So, being the overachiever that I am, I accepted her challenge.  The second round of dolls were even cuter than the first.  I took them to work to have them looked over to see if she approved…all sorts of people loved them, so I knew I was on the right track.  My friend gave me some marketing type ideas and I pondered them most of the afternoon.

I came home and took photos of the 2nd group to post to the Etsy Store.  I redid all of the images, the descriptions and by the time I finished at 10:30 I was tired, but very proud of what I had accomplished.  What I realized is that this venture in starting a small business had absolutely nothing to do with the dolls.  The lesson learned was that you can always do better, you can raise the bar and do so much more than you realize you are capable of.  That was the real value…I don’t have to sell a doll at this point, it’s about realizing something very special about myself.

I can write the book that I’ve started at least a half a dozen times.  I need to just do it, write, and let the story flow where it needs to go.  I can then go back and edit and make it the way that it needs to be.  When I am in the zone writing I lose all track of time, because it is something that brings me great joy.  That’s the next goal on my list to tackle.

Speaking of trying somethings, and realizing I am going to need more work..I have fallen in love with the West Coast Swing dance.  I went to a local cowboy club on Sunday night for lessons and was blown away at the people dancing this dance.  I stayed for the free lessons, and did my best not to let myself be intimidated.  Tonight I found a local dance studio that offers lessons and decided to add this dance to my list of dances I am learning.  I will still take progressive two step lessons one night a week, but this dance is one that I want to work on and at least get a small comfort level to dance.

In the mail today, snail mail, you remember what that is right?  I received a very special gift in the mail.  It was addressed to TexAnnie with my last name and my address.  At first I was hesitant to open the envelope, there was no return address.  But I decided that I needed to find out what was inside…It was a story written by my friend JD. He had shared the story with me a very long time ago via email.  I long since lost the file, but I remembered how funny it was, and how much it had made me laugh.  I feel as if I’ve been given a very special treasure.  Thanks JD for the wonderful gift.

Life continues to be a roller coaster…for the most part I hold on tight and kind of roll with what happens…I really try to step out of my comfort zone to do something new, to try and meet new people.  I know that some people laugh when I say that I am shy…I truly do have that side to me.  Of course, my April do something new adventure is going to be a new kind of dance class, pole dancing and burlesque.

Yeah..that should help me get past a little shyness.  : )

“Do one thing everyday that scares you.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

