A few new year ramblings…

Yikes, I have been doing pretty well with my 10,000 steps goal since starting on Friday. I find it much easier to walk when I have all day to squeeze in the 10,000 steps I need. Today it was back to work and back to reality. Even with squeezing some extra steps into my day I left the office with a dismal 3,000 steps on the pedometer. That was a pretty big wake up call as to the sedentary nature of my job sitting behind a computer all day. I’ll work on finding more ways to add steps during the day…but my punishment for sitting all day was walking 3.5 miles on the treadmill tonight.

I hate the treadmill…even with listening to a book on CD it was still boring and I kept checking the pedometer, sure about a dozen times that I must be at 10,000 steps. I started off bundled up with plans to walk outside. The weather is really really chilly for Texas this week, so I decided to try the fitness center at the apartment complex. As luck would have it, there was a free treadmill. I survived..I whined…but I’m still staying on target to do 10,000 steps a day!

Tomorrow night I am taking another big step. I am taking the first 5 pages of my novels for a review by the writing group. Not that I think any of them are book editors, or critics, it’s more like taking my pages and tossing them to the mercy of strangers. I know I write quite a bit on my blog, Facebook notes, Twitter, I don’t have any trouble rambling online. But to put my words on a page and show them to strangers is a bit scary. You see, I long ago convinced myself that the reason people say they like my writing is because they like me. I have no idea if these people like me, they’ve met me once and even I am not that good at making a first impression. So tomorrow night I will pass out the start of chapter 1, sit there while the *critics* read my 5 pages and blush uncontrollably no matter what they say. It’s a start and part of achieving that goal of writing/publishing a novel.

Today I purchased a Groupon Coupon (try saying that 3 times fast) for $20 to have a night of painting at place called Painting with a Twist. It looks like a fun night, and I would pay more than $20 for movie and snacks. Why the heck not give it a try?

JD is on my mind tonight as the TCU Horned Frogs are on TV playing in one of the Bowl games. I can remember several years ago JD listening to the Frogs play on the radio. Who would have thought they would be on national tv tonight playing in a bowl game? For you JD..wherever you are.. “Go Frogs!”

Write your first draft with your heart.  Re-write with your head.  ~From the movie Finding Forrester

6 thoughts on “A few new year ramblings…

  1. Lots of good and interesting things on that list for 2010. However…

    …to make the TexAnnie transformation complete I think you need to add Billy Bob’s Photo Bull to your list.

  2. “What’s in it for me?”

    Good question. A question we just normally, naturally ask. A common question, one that grows increasingly so in this post-modern world.

    What’s in it for you? My answer would be “probably not much, possibly nothing at all.”

    On the other hand…

    Ann-of-the-Cornfields has come a long way since that first web graphics course. She has almost realized there was quite an amazing, intelligent and capable woman inside an essentially shy personality. Her experiences online, in the classroom as student and teacher, as a committee member, as a traveler…all those experiences, the good ones and the bad ones and the plain ol’ everyday ones, empowered Ann to become what she is today. Not the same Ann, but not a different Ann, either. More like…the “in the process of being fulfilled Ann.’ She’s not there yet, but she’s on her way.

    Now, WHY the Photo Bull?
    1. Maybe some young, good-lookin’ Billy Bob’s cowboy will take your hand to help you up, and maybe even hold your waist as you get down. Who knows? Maybe.
    2. You KNOW you always have adventures in what you do. You can walk into a deli for a Cobb Salad to go and have some kind of experience to tweet about.
    3. Then there’s the photo itself, something to make your friends smile and shake their heads, and your daughters to roll their eyes. “Mom has definitely lost it, but she’s happy, so…”
    4. What a great illustration to wake up your students during a presentation: “When I was on that bull at Billy Bob’s Texas…”
    5. Maybe the most important thing in it for you is just one more little step in personal fulfillment, that growth from Ann-of-the-Cornfields to TexAnnie. Cornfields to prairies. Sandals to boots. Self-doubt to confidence.

    Don’t forget to “yeehaw” real loud then they take that picture.

  3. Your comment brightened my life at the end of the work day yesterday and helped set the tone for a great adventure.

    Smile, you know me so well.

Leave a Reply

