How’d I do?

It’s New Years Eve 2009 and I find myself on the edge of 2010, knowing that the most amazing year of my life is in front of me.  I have put together a list of goals, but I won’t post those until tomorrow.

It seems more appropriate to look at the goals that I made last year at this time and look to see how I did.

  1. What’s Cookin? My plan was to learn to cook different foods that were a bit more like my lifestyle in Texas.  I didn’t meet the goal of two new things every week, but I did expand my list of recipes and tried quite a few new things.My doctor has suggested that I lean more toward the Mediterranean Diet, so my revised food pyramid should look like this.  I will focus on learning, understanding, and doing this for myself.  I plan to be around for a long long time, and this is part of making that happen.
  2. Get my financial affairs in order.  I give myself a C on this on, I can do better and I will do better in 2010.
  3. Giving back. I linda sorta met this goal, I wasn’t able to go to DC to do the 3 Day Walk, but I did volunteer at the 3 Day Walk in Texas.
  4. Work skills enhancement, learn how to use Camtasia. Just under the wire I used Camtasia on a project at work this week!
  5. Explore Texas–see more of the state. It’s a big state, and I did see some new places, but not nearly what I would like to try to see in 2010.
  6. Explore some new hobbies, or fine-tune some that I enjoy now. I made a few strides in this area.  I am going to count my Country Western dance lessons as win in this column.

Looking back, it was quite a year.  If you would have asked me December 31, 2008 I would have never predicted all that life would toss my way in 2009.  Fun, crazy, scary, exciting it was a roller coaster ride of a year.  My first full year in Texas really seems to have zipped by.  I’m proud of my accomplishments, and hopefully am a little smarter and learned a few lessons this year.  I’ve had some terrific new friends come into my life that have added all sorts of very cool things.  I look forward to getting to know them better in 2010, and spending time with friends that I know, care and love every chance that I get.

2009…it’s time for you to head out the door and make room for my great 2010.

…tomorrow…6 goals for 2010.

Leave a Reply

