Everything’s bigger in Texas..

When I lived in Ohio, I often teased and joked about that Texas-ism.  (Apologies to my fellow Texans, I was a newbie from the cornfields.)  Last night over a pair of knitting needles, some soft and warm alpaca yarn on the way to becoming a scarf I thought about the past week.

In one week’s time, I attended a Law of Attraction Group Meeting, Volunteered at the Susan B Komen 3 day walk, took my first country western dance lesson, was part of a group that made sandwiches for the Dallas Soupmobile, attended the Texas Stampede Rodeo/Pat Green concert and went to a belly dancing class.

 

I’m not sure if everything is bigger in Texas, but I feel like my life is bigger in Texas.  Maybe it has a lot to do with where I am in my head, in my heart and in my life.  I’m not nearly as afraid to step out of my comfort zone, worried about what others will think.  People in my corner of the world, really don’t care so much about all of that.  It’s such a change from the way my life was before moving. There were some friends who just didn’t understand why I wanted to move..and to Texas?  Was I crazy.  Maybe I am, but for as long as I can remember, each time I came to Texas before moving here felt as if I was coming home.  There were more than a few times I cried when I boarded that plane out of Texas and back to Ohio.

I have no idea what this week has in store for me…another dance class, another writer’s group meeting…next Sunday another Random Acts of Kindness event.  My life is full and rich with things that matter to me.  I would venture to say there are some people out there, that are still struggling to find out just what matters to them, and some people who will sadly never find that in life.  I am happy and feel that I am living a fulfilling life.

Yee haw…let the adventure continue.

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”–Howard Thurman

One thought on “Everything’s bigger in Texas..

Leave a Reply

