Quitcher bitchin’…

Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine.
~Anthony J. D’Angelo, The College Blue Book

I have been whining and complaining about the rain in Texas for close to two weeks it seems. I’ve been spoiled by the sunshine and that big blue Texas sky. I haven’t seen it in awhile, and it’s made me cranky. Seriously, is being cranky, grumpy and whining going to make the rain stop and go away? Not even I have that much power…

So tonight after my latest hissy fit about SAD hitting me in Texas I realized just how silly this all was. I was making myself SAD by fretting about a little rain. It’s not snow or ice, and really it’s been warm outside. So my mission was to find something to put a smile on my face. It’s funny when you make up your mind to do that how easily that can happen.

Step 1, finish the thank you card scrapbook I have been working on for the local Hospice. I have been battling to unscrew the post to add the extra pages to the album. I’ve tried two different times with no luck. So I pulled that out, somehow wrestled it down and got the screws out, put the posts in and added the extra pages. I flipped through the pages when I was done and looked at the thank you cards sent in by families to Hospice after the death of their loved ones. If that’s not a weather whiner reality check, I’m not sure what is. The scrapbook looks great, and I plan to try and deliver it to Hospice after work tomorrow night. Mission accomplished.

I logged online to see if anyone was in need of a good <poke> on Facebook and saw a link that my friend @geosteph the rockstar had posted. to a web site called Donors Choose. Steph chose a science classroom cause, well, she’s a science geek.

I started looking at schools in my area, nothing in the town that I live in, but plenty of low income aka poor schools in the Dallas area. It was tough to choose among all of the worth projects. I then decided to do a search for knitting and found two schools with knitting projects needing donations.

http://www.donorschoose.org/donors/proposal.html?id=329182 and http://www.donorschoose.org/donors/proposal.html?id=329688 I couldn’t choose one over the other, so made a donation to each of them. I’ve donated yarn and needles in the past to several newbie elementary and middle school knitters. I learned to knit in the third grade at school, so that tugs at a special place in my heart.
SunshineinTexas

I reminded myself tonight of the three main goals on my vision board…

1) Help someone achieve a dream.

2) Help someone catch the giving spirit.

3) Make someone smile EVERY day.

Life’s not all about the *stuff* things you think you have to buy, have to have, places you have to go…sometimes it’s about making small steps to make life a little brighter for others that can bring the greatest joy in life.
$50 really seems a small price to pay to spread so many smiles.

Rain, what rain? 🙂

Anyone who says sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain. ~Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

