One day I might..one day I’m going to…

How many times have you said that? Putting things off until someday? STOP THAT RIGHT NOW! Pick one thing on that list of wishes and find a way to make it happen. Start with small steps, build your way up to it…but do it..try it…enjoy it.

I have never been to an NFL game. It is something that I’ve wanted to do forever. I lived about 2 hours away from the Cincinnati Bengals stadium–yet never managed to get there. I’m about 30 minutes–without traffic from the new Cowboys stadium. The place looks really cool. I looked at prices to attend a game and thought yikes!!! Enter the party pass, it’s a very economical way to go to the game, you don’t have a seat, but there are places to stand and things to do all over the stadium. I just decided what the heck and bought a ticket.

Then I started hearing reports of how bad the party passes were for the first game…they were oversold, people were turned away, parking was $75 and I started to hesitate…to rethink. Sure, I would be out the cost of my $30 something ticket. But I wouldn’t have to fight traffic and be disappointed…wow, $75 to park was a lot of money. One by one excuses started to show up on my list. What fun would it be to go by myself?

I think my guardian angels tapped me on the shoulder and reminded me of my intent in the first place. I could leave work early and hopefully be one of the lucky ones to get inside. If not, I at least got to see the outside of the place–trying to put a positive spin on the situation, as always. I knew that I was going to have fun, no matter what the obstacles might be.

I took along tennis shoes to change into..a very good idea it turned out. I plugged in the address in my GPS and I was headed to Arlington. I had a little traffic along the way, but nothing major. I had time to stop and get gas and make a leisurely drive down. Then I got to the stadium–oh boy now what?

I had printed out the parking maps, and realized they were still on the printer at home. I started seeing signs for parking $75, $50 oh good grief..but I had brought enough cash to cover wherever I found to park. I drove clear around the place, and saw Rangers Ballpark. I sorta remembered the maps that maybe that would be an option. I pulled into the lot

$50 ma’am

In my sweetest voice I pointed across the street and said, “It’s only $30 over there..I could use that $20 to buy a hot dog.”

With that, I made a U turn and headed across the street.

I parked the car, and looked around a bit to get my bearings. The SMART thing to do would have been to have put the address of the building in my GPS. I wasn’t real sure if there was much light back there and I knew that I would be walking back there by myself, alone after dark. I shrugged my shoulders, hoping that it would be ok and followed the crowd to Cowboy Stadium.

I immediately was sucked into the excitement of my surroundings. There were tailgate parties all along the sidewalk. A guy in front of me had on a Carolina jersey and was harassed his entire walk in. I made my way toward a ticket gate and stretched out my arms for the female pat down lane. The boys line probably would have been much more fun, but I behaved myself and did as directed.

As soon as I walked in there was a big stage with some hot and sexy dancers prancing around. People were taking pictures and going crazy. These were also the same dancers who were in the cages dancing during the game. They weren’t exactly cages–they looked more like the crow’s nest on a pirate ship. I saw them dancing on the big screen, but not up close and personal.

I made my way in to the first level and decided I needed something to drink. Pepsi! I was surprised it wasn’t Coke and paid $6 for the drink and commemorative cup. The cup has a holographic design on the outside that changes as you move it. Cheesy? Yes, but a great memory of the night..yep, I loved it.

I decided to explore all of the levels and ended up at the top. I walked around to the opposite end zone and found a place to stand. At first, I had a nice table for my drink, then someone came and stood in front of me. I moved around and realized that I was in a place that had some sort of large box I could lean up against. I was settled in for the night.

There were a lot of empty seats at that point in the evening..it was over an hour until game time and I knew people were still fighting traffic. When the game started it looked like most seats were filled. Dallas definitely knows how to work the show business side of the game. I stood at a place where I could see one of the giant screens.

There on the big screen was the locker room. Players were getting ready to come onto the field. I logged onto Twitter and made a comment that if that locker cam was going to be on after the game for the showers, I was going to hang around after all!

Los Lonely Boys sang the National Anthem, it was a great rendition, and you could see how excited thy were to be there. The Dallas Cowboy cheerleaders were dancing around, and I did not realize that their costumes were so darn skimpy!!!

The place was filled with Cowboy fans…everyone dressed in jerseys and Dallas Cowboy shirts. It was impossible not to get caught up in all of the excitement, even from the very high up place in the stadium I was standing. I smiled so much that i think my face was hurting by the end of the night.

I grew up watching football…watching the Cowboys, the Dallas Cowboy cheerleaders, they have always been known as America’s team. I felt like I needed someone to pinch me..here I was standing in Cowboys Stadium watching a game. WHAT? I’m not sure you can put a price on that kind of feeling.

I had made plans to leave at the beginning of the 4th quarter. I did get to see the Cowboys score..it was very exciting. I walked out of the stadium with a big grin, and then realized.

Where in the hell did I park?

Nothing looked the same, it was dark, I had gotten myself turned around in the stadium. Don’t panic blondie, you can find your car. Amazingly…I actually did find my car. The area was well lit, and there was a police officer sitting in a police car right by where I was parked. I made my way out, well before the rush of traffic and was home in 30 minutes.

My feet were a little tired when I got up this morning…but I was home by 10:30 and the Cowboys won, their first game in the new stadium–yeah, that commemorative cup is really making you jealous now isn’t it?

Take one thing away from this post today…do something..stop wishing and waiting.

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.
Henry David Thoreau

One thought on “One day I might..one day I’m going to…

Leave a Reply

