Feng Shui

I’ve recently become interested in feng shui and how it can enhance my surroundings. The 3 tips I have received so far from my feng shui guru.

  1. Set Your Goals and Intentions…check..see vision board.
  2. Encourage Good Energy into Your Home or Office–home is good. Maybe the office will be phase two of this project.
  3. Control your clutter.

I’ve spent the last two weekends going through the clutter in my apartment. This weekend that involved unpacking the last of the boxes I brought from Ohio. I did find some great treasures in the boxes so it was well worth the effort. Some things were tossed out, some were packaged in smaller boxes..lots of things were hung on the wall and even more things were put away in a variety of drawers and containers. I’m not sure I can remember a time when I was this organized….

I realized Friday night as I was dragging everything out of my den that there was much more going on here. I became almost obsessed with getting everything in order, and realized that in reality what I was doing was getting my life in order.

Some boxes had memories from the past, from my life in Ohio. Some of them were brought out into the light and hung on the wall. I had half a dozen things I had painted for my parents—a long long time ago that my sister gave me when my mom died. I was half way through packing them in a smaller box when I decided to hang the pictures up on my den. It’s not like there is a lot of traffic in there, and seeing them brings a smile to my face. On another wall I hung the picture of my daughter and I white water rafting her last year of high school it adds joy to my life remember that great trip with her.

In another box I found prints from my trip to Hawaii, a trip to Washington, D.C. to see the cherry blossoms and a photo of a sailboat taken at Mackinac Island. The trip to DC was one of those trips to honor my mom..she always wanted to see the cherry blossoms, but never took the time to do it. By the time she was retired, her health just wasn’t good enough to make the trip. The photo of the sailboat was from the last family vacation that we took right after my youngest graduated from high school. It helps me to remember the fun times. The picture in Hawaii I bought when I went there to meet with both of my daughters after the divorce…many many memories on that trip.

In another box I found a photo of my friend Michael. It was in a box of my stuff from the office. It’s now perched on top of my desk, and every time I look up he is smiling at me. That makes me smile, and makes me a bit teary eyed. I really do miss him…but I know that we will see each other again–soon, I hope.

One of my missions was to find my two Doreman Burns prints that had hung in my office at the college. I went to Kohl’s today to buy two frames–they were buy one get one free! The frames now are a closer match to the Doreman Burns print that Carol got for me. Wow, do they look great hanging on the wall. I moved a small painted cupboard out to the dining room and put my spur bookends there, and some books that have had an impact on my life. I found a small vase and I have some fresh flowers there now too. There is a wicker chair there that Carol gave me when I first moved to Texas, draped across the chair is a gorgeous scarf that I bought on my trip to Mendocino. In the corner of the room is a painted cupboard that I bought a lifetime ago with my craft business money. It’s a mix of my old life, and parts of my new life. I also found a photo of my brothers and sisters taken when I was 2 years old. I need to find a frame for that. All of this is in the center section of the Feng Shui Bagua Map. To me it represents my past, and the changes that have happened in my life. It’s a mix of things, and of course a mix of emotions. As much as I love my new life–and I do love it more than I ever imagined, I’m still grounded in the past and the path that made me the person that I am today.

According to the map, my Love & Relationship area is in the closet in my bedroom. I took a look at that closet yesterday and thought no wonder my love life is such a mess, look at the mess this closet is in. So today, I pulled everything out of the closet that I could and got to work organizing, tossing things away and introducing red to the area. I found a great saying to add to the wall:

“Love is like wildflowers it is often found in the most unlikely places.”

It seemed to be meant for me, and when I walk into the closet it is an explosion of red, and I see the quote. I went to Walmart and bought enough red hangers to replace all of the hanging type hangers in my closet…it’s pretty cool, and really wasn’t that expensive to do. I also arranged my clothes in the shades of the rainbow. It was another little touch that added a lot to the feel of the space. It’s funny, when the Asian was in my life he was always after me to clean out space for him in the closet. Maybe this is a residual effect to keep him away. Now I have all sorts of room…and empty hangers.

The clutter has disappeared from my view. I’m feeling very focused, optimistic and am ready for the next thing that life decides to send my way. I plan to buy a dining room table and chairs sometime in the next month, and I think my little corner of the world will feel complete. I’m tired, it’s been a lot of hard work to get all of this accomplished, but getting one’s life in order isn’t generally an easy task either.

I feel as if I am standing at the edge of a major life event…I have no clue what it will be, just that it will be amazing, and beyond anything I have ever hoped for or expected. What’s not to love about that?

“Live life as if you were an exclamation point, not a question mark!” –Larry Winget

“If you are going to change your life, you need to start immediately and do it flamboyantly!”” –William James

Ask…believe…receive.

šŸ™‚

Ann

Leave a Reply

