I go out walkin’…

Can’t you just hear Patsy Cline singing? I wasn’t out walkin’ after midnight, but the past two mornings have been relatively cool in Texas and I have gotten back into the swing of walking again. My legs were a little achy when I crawled out of bed this morning, and no doubt I may feel a little pain in the morning. But it felt good to be out in the fresh air, and I’ve been energized all day. One thing that I forgot about my walks, was the time it gave me to get inside of my head. Even though I have the iPod on, and I’m watching traffic so I don’t get run over, it seems to calm my mind and bring all sorts of things to the surface.

This morning my mind seemed to be wandering about thinking of plans for the next few weekends. Last year at this time I was going to all sorts of events, musical concerts and discovering quite a bit about my new home state of Texas. I spent countless weekends at one of my favorite places the Stockyards in Fort Worth. I realized today that I haven’t been there since last October. I’m going to remedy that in short order. I also want to make a return trip to Burnet, Texas and retrace the path that I took over 6 years ago when I made that first trip to Texas and decided to move here..that’s scheduled for early October. I’m trying to decide if I want to stay at the B & B I stayed at on the trip..or at the lodge. I’ll wait a few weeks to book those reservations.

Today was a day spent puttering around. I re-potted some plants and brought 3 new plants to my windowsill. I ordered concert tickets and stocked the fridge and the cupboard. I made a trip to Half Price Books and bought “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff..and it’s all small stuff” and “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff at Work”. Apparently from my review at work on Friday, that’s something I need to work on.

I then FINALLY went to the library and got a library card. I’ve had that on my agenda for months. I borrowed two books on scrapbooking, one on genealogy, Larry McMurtry’s Some Can Whistle and a book I am really really looking forward to starting before bed tonight, “Second Acts that Change Lives”. That should give me plenty to read for awhile. I have accumulated a scrapbook and some supplies to begin putting together a book of memories of people, places and trips I’ve taken since jumping into this new life.

At the corner of my mind I’m feeling the need to look into my roots–that’s where the genealogy book comes in. I’m not sure I’ll get to Denmark in the next year, but I really would like to know more about where in Denmark my ancestors came from. That will be a challenge as I don’t have much to go on. A long long long time ago, in another lifetime I had some of that information, but it got left behind in the cornfields..no doubt long since trashed. I’m sure some place out there I still have some cousins that might be able to shed some light on this. It’s a matter of setting my sights on accomplishing this and making it happen.

I’m continuing my current knitting projects for Beanies for Baghdad and have 12 hats completed. I started another hat tonight..I’ll keep knitting until I’m tired of knitting hats, and move on to the next charity knitting project. My goal was 12, but I still have yarn…so the project continues. Besides, the mindless knitting is good for my mind, my spirit and my mental health.

Not a life changing weekend…but a relaxing weekend that’s included a little reflection on life.

Make this week a terrific one, I know I plan to do just that!

Leave a Reply

