Waving hello…

I’ve been working my way out of a fog…it’s been a scary, eye-opening, frightening, embarassing and challenging several weeks. I seem to have come out the other side with my positive outlook on life. I refuse to live my life in fear, or to expend any more of my emotional energy on this creepster. I’m back to feeling like me.

Part of this “cure” is the weekend that I spent in California. I was not prepared for the beauty of that part of the world. I wish I had $1 for each time I said WOW over those 4 days. Here are the photos that I took.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/annohio/sets/72157621868983646/

I had a lot of time driving to Mendocino from San Jose–each direction to think about my recent trauma and life in general. I feel as if my spirit was recharged at that event. I spent 4 days with old friends, new friends, surprise friends eating, drinking, laughiing and enjoying life. It’s a weekend full of memories that I will treasure forever. I even had my palm read in Mendocino, it just seemed the thing to do in that hippie feeling town.

I’ve been through a bit of upheaval at work. I am confident that things will work themselves out. I didn’t travel all of this way to have things go badly. But if they do, then I’ll take the steps needed to move along another path in life. I’m no longer willing to work at a job that makes me unhappy and miserable. The team that I work with now are one of the most amazing groups of people I have ever had the pleasure to work with. Collectively, we are definitely a force to be reckoned with. I have stayed mostly out of my love for them, and for the joy and inspiration they bring to my days.

I seem to be in do-gooder overload. For me doing for others is like a drug. I beleive I feed off of doing for others like a junkie might get high from heroin. I am feeling such an intense need to give back right now. Maybe it’s part of that I’m trying to get my head on straight, and figuring out how best to give value to this world.

I had some fun things happen this week..it’s not all been challenges.

I had to work 12-9 this week, and decided to make the most of it. I tried every day to send my students out the door smiling, by doing that, it sent me out the door smiling. Frday night they gave me a vocabulary list of “hood words” on the board. Yep, I’d say I made a connection with them…and they learned and each and everyone of them passed their certification test.

Wednesday morning I went to the Hospice office to work for 2 hours before I worked my regular job. It was mindless putting stuff in alphabetical order to be filed type work. One of the people I was working with was a gentleman from another country who had only been here for 4 months. I was so impressed that he was volunteering. Then 2 older ladies joined us, and one of them was very outrageous and outspoken and made me laugh with her comments.

“You know your name is hard to pronounce (to my non-American friend) I’m just going to call you George.”

To me…

“Why would you ever want to move to Texas?”

“It takes me forever to file this stuff because I like to read it all first.”

“Oh, you must be a smart person–I’d better behave myself around you.”

….as if she could? I hated to go to work, they had all started my day with a smile.

With my allergy/health issues this year, it’s become pretty apparent to me that I’m not going to make my goal of walking in the 3 Day Walk with Geosteph in DC. I did decide this week to volunteer to work at the 3 Day event in Dallas/Ft Worth. Yes, it’s not walking myself, but that goal can be moved to 2010. That seems like a nice round number. 😮

I’ve been knitting baby booties and hats. It’s interesting that these goody bags are heading to a Planned Parenthood group in San Jose, California. Up until last weekend I thought that it would never be cool enough for them to wear my handknitted items. I plan to tie a flannel quilt and send it to them with next Saturday’s shipment.

Last night I added 2 soldiers from AnySoldier.com to my list of charities. I really enjoyed my time working with the guys from Kandahar, and plan to start by writing letters this week.

No time to go somewhere and volunteer? There are lots of virtual opportunities. I like to use http://www.volunteermatch.org/. I don’t have time to physically commit to charitable projects, but this group finds things I can do right at home..to make a difference.

Act as if what you do makes a difference. It does.
~William James

The purpose of life is not to be happy – but to matter, to be productive, to be useful, to have it make some difference that you have lived at all.
~Leo Rosten

Nobody can do everything, but everyone can do something.
~Author Unknown

We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.
~Winston Churchill

When you dig another out of their troubles, you find a place to bury your own.
~Author Unknown

Every action in our lives touches on some chord that will vibrate in eternity.
~Edwin Hubbel Chapin

Instead of counting your days, make your days count.
~Author Unknown

Consider yourself nudged. 😮

Leave a Reply

