Tossin’ and turnin’…

I can’t sleep..I think he culprit is the caffeine that I had too close to bedtime. So, I thought perhaps gettng up, writing a few random thoughts might help slow my brain down so I can get a little sleep tonight.

Good news at the pulmonary specialiast today–he thinks the coughing is due to allergies and recommended that I begin taking Claritin D to see if that helps relieve the cough. I’m to try that for two weeks, if no improvement he gave me samples of Flonase to try for two weeks. I’m feeling better, even walking again, knitting in the evenings, feeling like I have some of my old energy back. Now if I could just sleep at night without being awake with a cough most of the night.

I spent last weekend with some friends from Ohio. I lounged in the pool most of the afternoon on Friday sipping pina coladas. Ahhh the three day weekend certainly helped with my recovery. I’m starting to get a little color, even with the SPF 30 sunblock. Saturday was spent at the nail salon getting a manicure and a pedicure, and Saturday afternoon we went to the movies and saw Angels and Demons. I liked it..I read the book, but it was quite some time ago. Long enough that I forgot some of what was to happen, so it was a bit of a surprise for at least part of the movie. Sunday we journeyed to my corner of the world, so I could show off my apartment, the neighborhood, and a quick tour of the parking lot of the building I work in. It is a big building, and looks most impressive.

When I got home, I had the BEST surprise in my mailbox. A very official looking invitation from NASA no less, inviting me to the LRO launch in June in Florida. If I can find a decent (translation cheap) ticket from DFW I am going to try to make it for the launch. How often in one’s life does one receive such an opportunity? I’m very excited at the prospect.

I finished another toddler sweater tonight for Dulaan. I picked up the yarn–called cupcake of all things for around $3 total. I should have more than enough yarn left to make at least a hat. The deadline is July 1 to ship these treasures to Arizona–still more time to knit and use up some of the yarn I have had stashed away–and an excuse to buy more yarn.

I’m looking forward to the 3 day weekend—two in a row! I plan to get out and enjoy this beautiful Texas weather. I know soon enough it will be extremely hot, but for now, the weather is wonderful.

How’s life in your corner of the world?

I haven’t posed a question in oh so long..but this one seems appropriate:

If you could go anywhere in the world for a holiday, where would you go?

My response may seem a little morbid, but for Memorial Day, I would like to visit Arlington Cemetery. I’ve been to Arlington before, it was a cold and rainy day one March. It was a very somber and emotional experience for me. I can remember as a senior in high school going to the local cemetery and reading “In Flanders Field”. That memory has stuck with me for a lifetime…

Leave a Reply

