Fun in the sun…

I arrived home from Miami at about 6:00 on Monday night. My luggage trailed behind and was delivered to my door after midnight. Even losing my luggage for a short time could not put a damper on the way I felt after attending SXSE 2009 in Miami. I felt well-rested, relaxed and like I had been away for a week at a spa. One would think with a weekend filled with lots of fun activities I would be exhausted by the time I returned. I have to say that the organizers of this unorganized event did a great job of balancing time for fun, and time to just chill out and talk with friends…face-to-face, not device to device on Twitter. Thank you to our Miami hosts ViceQueenMaria, DearYvette, MKHall and MKLopez for making us feel welcome and part of their corner of the world.

There have been quite a few photos posted of the craziness that was the weekend. I’m sure that some of my Twitter friends are looking at them and wondering..WTH? Oh, right it’s AnnOhio, that makes perfect sense to me now.

I found myself having a few emotional moments during the weekend..thinking of Twitter friends I was missing–maybe next year they can join the party. But making some new friends from South Florida helped…crazy creatures, I felt right at home.

I’m not sure I can put into words the feelings, the emotions, the way it felt to be surrounded by so many people who have supported me through all of my ups and downs the past two years. You are my family…and it’s hard to explain to people that moving from Ohio to Texas was made easier because my support group is with me..always. I don’t think it matters what other people–the post-Oprah tweeters think, or get about this social media stuff…for me..it makes a difference each and every day.

I shake my head in amazement at the friends I have met as part of the online knitting community and also through Twitter–it’s nice to see a few of you popping up on Twitter.  I think the days of people talking about those “crazy internet” people are fading into a distant memory–you don’t have to meet someone face-to-face to become great friends, and to share your life. 

Sunset on Sunday evening was one of the treasured memories I took away from the event.  This is a photo at sunset.

Digital Camera Photos 323

Friends…they make the sunsets of our life extra special.

Leave a Reply

