Fate or a nudge from the universe?

Yesterday I received one of those forwarded emails from a friend that struck a chord with me. I won’t copy and paste the whole thing, just snippets.

***********************

“Too many people put off something that brings them joy just because they haven’t thought about it, don’t have it on their schedule, didn’t know it was coming or are too rigid to depart from their routine.”
 
“Life has a way of accelerating as we get older.  The days get shorter, and the list of promises to ourselves gets longer.  One morning, we awaken, and all we have to show for our lives is a litany of ‘I’m going to,’ ‘I plan on,’ and ‘Someday, when things are settled down a bit.'”

“Do something you WANT to……not something on your SHOULD DO list. If you were going to die soon and had only one phone call you could make, who would you call and what would you say?  And why are you waiting? ”

‘Life may not be the party we hoped for…  but while we are here we might as well dance!

***********************
It has been a very long and trying week for me.  My work team went out on Friday to celebrate the official citizenship of one of our team members.  I was once again working the late shift and did not arrive there until after 8:00 p.m.  Just as the party was winding down, I didn’t even have a happy hour drink to celebrate. 

Two of my new Texas friends Brandon and Chuck suggested we find a bowling alley and go bowling.  You know, why not?  I haven’t been bowling in over ten years.  I honestly had no idea that people still bowled until we pulled into the parking lot of the bowling alley and it was packed.

It was moonlight bowling, a first for me.  Bowling alleys have certainly changed since the days I used to go to work with my mom (a waitress at a bowling alley).  She would take us to work with her every Saturday and we would spend the day bowling in a kid’s bowling league and haunting the alley all day while she worked.  Looking back I now realize she was a single mom with no kids, Saturday day care was unheard of, not to mention way beyond her budget.

The atmosphere of the bowling alley was just plain fun.  Long gone are the days of balls striking pins as the only sound in the bowling alley.  On the big screen tvs at the end of each alley were a variety of things happening, hockey game, basketball game and rock videos.  You couldn’t hear yourself think in the place with the symphony of noise from the pins and the dance music.  I loved it. 

We ended up bowling two games, and I am still chuckling thinking about the glow in the dark shoes and the inconsistency in my bowling ranging from straight to the gutter rolls, to strikes.  I have no idea where those came from.

I have a feeling that my mom was looking down on me last night…remembering those long ago days at the bowling alley, and smiling to see me out there having fun and huggin’ the stuffin’ out of life.  I don’t know about you, but I plan on dancing until I can’t dance any more.

Thanks Brandon & Chuck for a heck of a good time!Bowling

 

Leave a Reply

