Where in the world have you been?

I looked up today and realized—January is gone.  I thought that 2008 really zipped by, but 2009 seems to be going at warp speed.  I realized last night just how long it had been since I connected with many of my friends from all over the globe.  It made me a little sad, and also made me start to think of ways to better keep in touch.

My life has been crazy since moving to Texas, but crazy in a good way.  I actually think that I am developing a new life that is fun, crazy, a little goofy and a bit of a roller coaster at times.  A new friend claims that I have finally found myself, I just am in the process of refining and redefining the life that I want to lead.  That’s a pretty big challenge, and in part may have something to do for nearly dropping off of the grid.

What have I been up to?

  • Working a crazy schedule that has me working more afternoon shifts than I would like.  Those hours seem to mess up my sleep and eating patterns.  Next week I work 12-8:30 pm and the following 3 weeks I work 10 am to 7 pm.  But I have a good job, and in these economic times all appears to be very secure that I will keep the job.
  • When I can squeeze it in I started taking a karate class.  I never pictured myself learning karate, but when I have been able to make it to class I have enjoyed it.  I plan to continue, and have asked for at least Monday nights to attend class.
  • I’ve continued my charity projects–a bit limited compared to the past.  I have Valentine’s Day cards I am working on for Hospice patients, and I’ve started knitting for the Dulaan Project.
  • I experienced my first ice storm in Texas this week and am still laughing at the way everyone freaked out over a little ice.  On the plus side temperatures will be in the 70’s for the weekend.  :o)
  • I’ve battled a few personal demons, and started poking around inside of my head and dealing with some ghosts from the past. That’s never an easy thing to do, and can be a bit unnerving to look at one’s self in that light.  Knitting time has become pondering time as I reflect on things that seem to be nudging me to pay attention.

My life continues to be an interesting journey.  You might think that after 50+ years I would have life figured out–I realize that I’m really just beginning to understand and figure some things out.  I don’t see that as a bad thing, I also don’t plan on spending the next 50 years trying to find myself.  In the words of that immortal sailor Popeye, “I am what I am.”

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. – Helen Keller

Everybody eventually becomes who they are.

If you wait for tomorrow to follow your dreams, by the time that you get there they’re gone. – Willie Nelson

Life is a journey, not a destination. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

One thought on “Where in the world have you been?

Leave a Reply

