New year on the horizon…

2009 is nearly here, and I started thinking about goals for the new year.  I’m not calling them resolutions, just a few things that have been on my mind lately to work toward in 2009.

  1. What’s Cookin?
    I want to learn to cook—cook differently than I have been cooking for most of my life.  I knew how to cook for a family of 4 in the cornfields, but cooking for one, or even two has left me challenged at best.  To compensate I grab whatever is quick, or whatever I can find in my local grocer’s freezer.  My goal is to cook two new things every week.  Doing the math here, that’s well over 100 new things to try and to learn how to cook.  
     
  2. Get My Financial Affairs in Order
    For the first time in my life I want to put myself on a budget, and do my best to stick with it.  That’s going to be a challenge for me, but at this stage of my life, I think its’ about time to get a real handle on my finances, spending, and my investments–you know be a grown up?  :o)
     
  3. Giving Back
    In 2008 I sent a card to my friend Steph in Washington, D.C. to arrive in time for the 3 Day Breast Cancer Walk.  I said that in 2009 I planned to be there with her walking.  That’s a promise I intend to keep.  To do that I’m going to have to definitely get back into shape, so that will satisfy two goals I have for 2009.
  4. Work Skills Enhancement
    I want to learn how to use Camtasia to create web based training modules.  I think with my background in web stuff this should be a reasonable goal.
  5. Explore Texas
    This is one great big state and I want to see more of it.  Short getaways, and attending SXSW in Austin for sure.
  6. Explore some new hobbies, or fine-tune some that I enjoy now.
    The metro-plex is a huge area, there have to be all sorts of classes in all sorts of things in this area, just a matter of taking some time to do a little homework and online research.  I miss Yoga, belly dancing..pottery? Painting? Why not?

The Bucket List — Carry over from 2008

  1. Take a trip to Denmark to see where my ancesters roamed.
    I’m not sure that trip goes along with my goal to become more fiscally responsible, but perhaps investigating and figuring out where my ancestors actually roamed is a great start in 2009.
     
  2. Parasail
    This one seems do-able in 2009.  :o)
     
  3. Write a bodice ripper and have it published.
    If nothing else, I have an incredible book about dating in one’s 50’s that I have gathered quite enough material for!
     
  4. Knit an absolutely gorgeous lace shawl.
    I have yarn that I bought on my trip to Ireland..the first step is finding a pattern and then starting.  Just do it!

New to the list in 2009

  1. Travel always seems to be really high on my list.  I’d like to see the pyramids, take  a mediterranean cruise, see the sites in Paris, spend a wild and crazy weekend in Vegas taking in the shows–see the mountain vistas in some part of the western United States.
     
  2. I want to learn to ballroom dance–you know Dancing with the Stars type dancing.  (Finding a partner would probably be a pretty good first step? :o)

That’s a start, a few things to shoot toward in the next year.  I hope as goals are met, I can add a few more challenges to my days. 

Over the weekend I saw the movie The Yes Man..it struck a chord in me that saying yes to new challenges and situations can open up a new world of possibilities.  A stretch goal for 2009 is to say yes to more opportunities than those that I say no to.  It’s never easy to step outside of one’s comfort zone and try new things and new experiences.  But, what am I waiting for? I’ve not discovered a fountain of youth here in Texas, or have I?  I think my relocation has opened me up a lot more to life, and all that it has to offer.

What about you? Have you set any goals?

Ann

Tonight’s new dish Breast of Chicken with Lemon Butter from 5 in 10 Cookbook–5 Ingredients in 10 Minutes of Less–just $6.98 at Half Price Books yesterday…One down, 103 more new things to cook in 2009!
 breast-of-chicken-with-lemon-butter1

3 thoughts on “New year on the horizon…

  1. Ann my dear,

    I’m happy to help you with the cooking as much as possible, I do a lot of cooking for one these days and dinners in 20 minutes.

    And in the exploration of Texas. You need to go to Jacbo’s Well in Wimberly and SCUBA dive there. — You’ll need to get certified first. 😉

  2. fish fillet — about ½ pound
    one small sweet chile (not Bell) pepper
    4- or 6-oz tomato sauce (sauce, not paste)
    olive oil
    about ¼ cup chopped black olives
    about ¼ cup mushroom pieces
    dried tarragon
    garlic powder
    onion powder
    fresh cilantro, chopped

    1. Chop up the pepper, begin to saute it @ 250 degrees in your electric skillet with a bit of olive oil
    2. When the pepper is tender, lay the fillets on top for 3-4 minutes, then turn.
    3. Sprinkle partially cooked fish with garlic and onion powders, then tarragon leaves to taste, then chopped olives and ‘shrooms, then the tomato sauce.
    4. Cover and reduce heat to 220 degrees for 10 minutes or until fillets are done.
    5. Remove fillets to a warm plate.
    6. Stir the chopped cilantro into the remaining liquid, reduce to desired thickness, pour over fish.

    Great with saffron rice and maybe even some “green stuff.”

    Measurements are not given for most ingredients because the joy of this dish is letting your own taste buds and nose tell you when “that’s enough!”

Leave a Reply

