Mmmmm…fresh baked cookies….

My apartment smells like fresh baked snickerdoodles.  That’s because I just baked a batch and a half for work tomorrow.  I have a plate for the office, a dozen for a co-worker who loves snickerdoodles who had a bad day today and nearly a dozen little festive Halloween type bags tied with a candy corn printed ribbon.  To me? Nothing special, just business as usual.  It’s amazing what a little bag full of cookies can do to make an impression.

If you asked my college class students who often celebrated Fun Day Monday, Terrific Tuesday, and What’s Up Wednesday what sorts of things I did in a given semester, this behavior would not surprise them.  For as long as I can remember I’ve just enjoyed doing these kinds of things, it’s never felt like a chore, it gives me pleasure.  I’ve also found it’s a whole lot easier to ask someone for help when you’ve worked on building a relationship before you actually needed that help.

This week my class was cancelled due to the computer conversion.  It’s the first time since my first week that I’ve worked a normal 8-5 schedule.  It’s also given me a chance to get back into my other love course management–using Moodle instead of Blackboard.  I’m still poking around trying to figure new things out.  I need to track down some guidebooks, tutorials or manuals.  The net connection at work makes that darn near impossible, so maybe a little time at home this weekend to see what I can come up with.

What made your day a little brighter today?  What the heck are you up to?

The question of the day….If you had to describe yourself using three words, it would be…

Me? Happy, Contemplative, Goofy!

Leave a Reply

