Those weird Internet people…

Once upon a time I discovered this thing called the Internet.  It started out innocently enough, I’d use the Internet for this thing called e-mail and my first *social media* experience was on Parent Soup with the nickname of School Mom.  I can remember when some friends that I worked with at the elementary school told me about this program called ICQ where you could talk to friends online directly.  This was back in 1996…December I think?

I don’t remember when I started in online chat.  I do remember using Microsoft’s Comic Chat to start with.  Somehow I got from there to IRC and joined an online chat group called Married and Still Sexy.  There were dozens of people in that room, but somehow Dazzling Harem Girl connected up with a kindred spirit Blue Teddy.  We were online friends for over two years when we finally decided to meet in person.  (We both crack each other up with some of those stories of those early days in chat.)

Our meeting in Vero Beach, October 1-3, 1999 was very event filled, and not in a positive way.  We got along great, the woman I chose to travel with, ended up being a real nutcase.  (Which still has me cautious about travelling with people I don’t know very well.) 

BlueTeddy and I have been through a lot of ups and downs in our lives since we first met online in 1997.  I think I could fill a book with our adventures, mishaps, heartaches, and amazing life moments.  During that time we’ve spent hours chatting and sorting out our lives together.  I can’t imagine not having her as a part of my life–plus she has enough blackmail material on me to put both of her sons and their sons and their sons and their sons through an Ivy League school plus medical school!

I am blessed to have many people in my life who make a difference in many ways both small and large..but BlueTeddy–or BT as I call her has always been there for me.  I know that she is only a phone call, an email or a goofy card away if I need her.  She is what friendship means to me..she knows how to be a friend.  There are a lot of people in this world that just don’t get that. 

The best kind of friend is the one you could sit on a porch with, never saying a word, and walk away feeling like that was the best conversation you’ve had.  ~Author Unknown

Happy Birthday,  I love you Buddy!  Thank you for all that you have added to my life during the time that we have been friends.  I have no doubts that you and I will still be kicking up our heels and howling at the moon together for many years to come..no matter what time zones we live in, no matter what our age. 

Leave a Reply

