Here’s to a great 52nd year!

I had an email this morning from Mike Dooley at tut.com in celebration of my birthday yesterday.  It actually gave me quite a chuckle, and honestly a few things rang very true.  (You know, I’m sure just about everyone that gets these birthday emails feels the same–but work with me here..)

A few years back, not so long ago, heaven and earth erupted into a major celebration with the news of your impending adventure into this very time and space. You see, someone like Ann doesn’t come along all that often. In fact, there’s never been a single one like you, nor is there ever ANY possibility that another will come again. You’re an Angel among us. Someone, whose eyes see what no others will EVER see, whose ears hear what no others will EVER hear, and whose perspective and feelings will NEVER, ever be duplicated. Without YOU, the Universe, and ALL THAT IS, would be sadly less than it is.
 
Quite simply:
 
You’re the kind of person, Ann,
Who’s hard to forget,
A one-in-a-million

To the people you’ve met.
Your friends are as varied
As the places you go,
And they all want to tell you
In case you don’t know:
That you make a big difference
In the lives that you touch,
By taking so little
And giving so much!
 
Ann, you are so AWESOME! For your birthday, friends and angels from every corner of the Universe, including buddies you didn’t know you had, will be with you to wish you the HAPPIEST of days and an exciting new year in time and space. You won’t be alone!

I was in a serious funk at the end of the week last week.  I honestly really really hate my birthday.  It’s not about getting a year older, it’s more about memories from the past.  Not that there aren’t a few fun memories of my birthday–my surprise 16th birthday party and my wild and crazy times in Florida spent with my bestest friend BlueTeddy.  Meeting her, and spending our birthdays together for that last nearly 10 years really made a difference in my feelings about my birthday. 

Yet still, that funk creeps in during the few days leading up to my birthday.  Friday I had lots of teary eyed moments for all sorts of reasons…As I was putting groceries in the car on Friday I realized it was the first birthday without my mom.  That made me dissolve into a puddle of emotions and no matter how much I tried..I just couldn’t shake the sadness.

Enter the friends that I truly appreciate and adore.  I went to the mailbox to find all sorts of cards, a package from my knitting buddy Susan, flowers on Saturday from my favorite rock star and a day filled with text messages, direct messages, Facebook wall posts and time spent face-to-face with a very special friend who went out of his way to make my day special.  It’s all about the small things…

Thank you all for your kind words and birthday wishes, you have no idea what those small gestures did to make me realize that I truly am loved by some incredible people.  Last night as I sat knitting and reflecting I thought about my birthday and thought that the oceans of time have surely swept away some of those long ago hurts.  It’s time to really try to let go of the hurt of the past and move forward with my life.  I’m not sure I will remember that when my birthday rolls around next year–but it’s a goal to shoot towards.  Who would have thought a year ago I would be where I am today?

:o)  You know what an overachiever I am? I am going to pull a PreppyDude and celebrate my birthday for the entire month of October!

Ann

Leave a Reply

