Filling up my bucket…

A few years ago I read the book How Full Is Your Bucket? Positive Strategies for Work and Life it made me realize that I could not be continually giving and doing for others without taking time now and then to *fill my bucket*.  Today was one of those days…a day that I was totally in the moment and absorbed my time in the Ft. Worth Stockyards.

It wasn’t my first trip to the Stockyards, more than likely at the very least my fifth trip.  There are certain things that I feel the need to do every time–lunch at the Star Cafe, jewelry purchases at Jersey Lilly and New West Arts, two of my favorite places with lots of silver and opals.  I can’t believe that I have been living in Texas for over 6 weeks, and this was my first venture there. It’s about a 45 minute drive from my apartment, but with hardly any traffic on a Sunday it was a nice drive.

This trip was a little bit different, I was going to be spending parts of my day with Billy Joe Gabriel the editor of the Fort Worth Gazette.  Even though I was a *yankee* from Dallas Billy Joe still decided to spend some time with me today.  (I know..he truly doesn’t know me very well does he?)  Joining us for the day was Billy Joe’s friend Ewen (I’m sure I am really mangling the spelling of his name.) from Scotland.

I’m still smiling from the day..from the first meeting of Billy Joe today, he was a pure delight.  He is definitely one of those kinds of people that has to add to the life of those around them.  I teased him all day about being a celebrity as he showed me around and gave me his view of Cowtown.  Cowtown certainly has a wonderful ambassador in Billy Joe.  I was in awe of the photos he had taken that were all over the walls of BIlly Bob’s one famous country performer after another.  Such a friendly down to earth kind of guy..one of the kinds of people that inspired me to move to Texas in the first place.

Somehow, I haven’t quite figured this on out yet, Billy Joe managed to get the keys to a 1966 Ford Mustang convertible restored and in mint condition.  As we drove down the main street of Cowtown someone yelled gorgeous–of course we all know that compliment was directed at me and not the car!  :o)  I had a wonderful guided tour of downtown Ft. Worth in that great car.  I was fortunate to have a great tour guide for the event.

When we returned to Cowtown I gave the owner of the car a great big TexAnnie huggin’ the stuffin’ type hug and thanked him for loaning the car to BIlly Joe.  Without a doubt it made both Ewen’s and I’s day to be cruising around in that car.  You might find it hard to believe, but the car ride was even more exciting than the birthday party for the lightbulb that has been burning for 100 years today.

Today filled up my bucket…I feel recharged, energized and ready to take on what life sends my way.  I had a blast today with two guys who are a lot like me..more fun than sense, and that’s a good thing in my book.

What

fills your bucket? A place? A person? A thing?  Or just life in general?  You know that one of my favorite quotes is an AnnOhio saying, “If you’re not adding to my life I’m subtracting you.”  I think I just added one very special person today…how do I continue to get to be so lucky?

Thanks Billy Jo!    (Yes, you can believe I gave him a few huggin’ the stuffin’ out of you type hugs–he gave me a copy of a book he has written..impressive!)   More photos of the day are posted on my Flickr account.

.. another real TexAnnie memory….

2 thoughts on “Filling up my bucket…

  1. Amazing, Amazing, Amazing. It’s simply my relationship with you that has oushed me farther in this year than I’ve been the past 26. I can’t thank you enough for who you are and everything you do for everyone!
    LUV Ya!

  2. Hi Anne, Would you happen to have Billy Joe’s contact info? I have been trying to find the best way to reach him or shoot him an email. Appreciate any suggestions you may have. Thanks, Mike

Leave a Reply

