Live like you were dying…

Tonight when I was out walking in the spectacular Texas weather, this song by Tim McGraw started playing on my iPod.  I love the song, and have always found the words a great inspiration. 

Skydiving
I went rocky mountain climbing
I went two point seven seconds on a bull named Fu Man Chu
And man I loved deeper
And I spoke sweeter
And I watched an eagle as it was flyin’
And he said some day I hope you get the chance
To live like you were dyin’

I’m not going to do any skydiving…but I do hope to spend my birthday at the Canyon of the Eagles in Burnet, Texas.  That’s where I started to think about my 5 year plan/goal to move to Texas.  It only seems fitting to spend my birthday there this year.  (No riding of the mechanical bull again–thank you very much!)  My birthday just wasn’t my birthday until I started celebrating it in Florida with my buddy—this year my trip to Florida is just not meant to be…but I think I can escape to the hill country to reflect on life and the past year.  The Canyon of the Eagles is also where I’ve asked in my will to have my ashes sprinkled.  Yep, the place means that much to me.

Back to the song—I spent a few hours last night creating birthday cards to send out to the first round of hospice patients.  I have all of the September birthdays done, and had another dozen or so just nice encouraging cards that were sent to random people on the list.  I think choosing hospice as my charity to support in Texas is humbling.  It makes you really ponder life, and how things can change and how important it is to live each day to the fullest.

You’ve Got a Friend, I love me some James Taylor, but tonight it reminded me of three very amazing ladies on my Twitter list @geosteph, @gloriabell and @laurak.  They are terrific for who they are, but I admire them greatly for their goal to walk in the Susan Kommen walk for breast cancer.  I ordered one of the Twittering for Tits shirts.  I also contributed to each of their walking links, cause you know friends just sort of do that kind of thing for friends.  If you don’t have the money to do either, at the very least send them an “atta girl”.  I walked an hour tonight and my feet are tired..I can’t imagine doing the 3-day walk.  I wish I could be there at the finish line to cheer them on.  (There’s no feckin’ way I could walk that many miles!!!)

Find a small way today to make a difference.  You don’t have to walk 60 miles…it all starts with a small ripple.

Ann

One thought on “Live like you were dying…

  1. Ann-
    You constantly cause me to pause and evaluate my life. I appreciate that about you so much. The fact that you took up Hospice as your charity to support really makes me look at what charity work I’ve done, and how I can improve it, or expand it.

    And after meeting @laurak a few weekends ago, and talking to her about the walk, I look forward to supporting her, and the other walkers, as much as I can. We talked about how she didn’t get enough mail last time, and I hope to change that this year!

    We try to make a difference via our son. Between his scouting involvement, cleaning up the community, collecting food for the needy, and other small things, we do our little bit each week. Thanks again for helping me re-evaluate things!

Leave a Reply

