What a difference a year makes…

A year ago at this time was about the time my mom became sick with ecoli.  The week before we had a great summer meal on the patio before my youngest daughter headed back to college.  It’s just how I love to remember her.  In the kitchen supervising the cooking, sitting outside eating, laughing and jabbing at each other.  I had no idea at that time that it would be the last happy time we would all spend together gathered around that table. 

When I arrived in Dallas I received a virtual volunteer opportunity to help with Seasons Hospice in Ft. Worth.  I thought it was a great opportunity to thank hospice for all that they did for my mom in her final days and to honor her memory. 

Since moving here I’ve been picking up things here and there at the Under 97 cents store, Michaels, anywhere I happened to be out and found thing that were around a dollar.  This afternoon I sat down, and sorted things into bags, and wrote little cards to go along with them..just thinking of you type cards.  I have two pair of handknitted slippers made that will also go with the gift bags. 

I went shopping today, found a coffee table, and end table and a new rug for my living room.  I’ll pick them up at the warehouse on Wednesday. Hopefully I can stuff them into my Honda CRV Moving Mobile.  It will save me $60 and an appointment at home to wait for the delivery.  I’m mostly settled in, just some boxes to unpack–but nothing pressing.  I made another trip to IKEA today and I have something new to assemble.  That will probably be a tomorrow project. 

It’s Labor day you know…shouldn’t I be laboring?

I spent the afternoon with my friend who used to be my boss. We talked about out of site and out of mind and the fact that I have heard from so few people that I worked with in Ohio.  People who pretended for years to be my friends.  Today my email and network account is officially deleted, I’m ok with that. I told my friend, the real plus for me is that my Twitter friends moved with me. It doesn’t matter if I’m in the cornfields of Ohio, or in the midst of the cowboys in Texas…they are here with me..that’s a pretty terrific thing I think.  I’m looking forward to my first houseguests.  I have certainly taken advantage of the hospitality of my Twitter friends, I’m ready to share a little bit of my Texas style hospitality with ya’ll now too.

One thought on “What a difference a year makes…

  1. AnnOhio…you’re settled! I’m glad for you! 🙂 Sounds like things are going well and those scary Texans are being nice to you. Shoot me your new, shiny Texan mailing address in an email, would ya??

    Yee haw!

Leave a Reply

